Draft and final recommendation reports for Cheshire East, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cheshire East

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Cheshire East between February 2009 - January 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Cheshire East councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Information regarding past electoral reviews of the Cheshire County Council, prior to it becoming two separate unitary authorities, which replaced the county and district councils on 1 April 2009, can be found here.

Recommendations become law 

The Cheshire East (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Cheshire East, was made on 4 January 2011 and published on 7 January 2011.

New wards for Cheshire East have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Cheshire East can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/3/made

The made order refers to the same maps as the draft order. 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 11 October 2010 the Cheshire East (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Cheshire East and published on 13 July 2010.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Cheshire East in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Please note: some of these sheets may be very large and may take some time to download.

On 13 July 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cheshire East.These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cheshire East.The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. An Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next elections for Cheshire East Council in 2011.

25 November 2009: The Boundary Committee for England published its draft recommendations for Cheshire East on 10 November 2009. We have since identified some inconsistencies in the report. Several inaccurate electorate figures have been used in the report along with inaccurate details on Map 7 (Sandbach) and Map 8 (Crewe).

Below is a link to an amended table which provides accurate figures for our proposed wards. This should replace the original version detailed in Appendix C1 of the report on page 40. We have also clarified Map 7 and Map 8 and the updated versions can be accessed below.

Clarification to Cheshire East draft recommendations - Appendix C1 (PDF)

We have published our draft recommendations (PDF) for electoral arrangements for Cheshire East Council. The review is being carried out to decide the number of councillors and the boundaries of electoral wards for the unitary authority which took on local government functions for Cheshire (along with Cheshire West & Chester Council) in April 2009.

We have also published a summary of the report (PDF)

Maps of the area:

Please note that some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

Consultation on our draft recommendations closed on 15 February 2010.

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Authority

Cheshire East Borough Council (PDF)

Political Groups, Councillors and MPs

Cheshire East Labour Party Local Government Committee (PDF)

Cllr Asquith (PDF)
Congleton Conservative Association (PDF) Cllr Hogben (PDF)
Crewe & Nantwich Liberal Democrats (PDF) Cllr Silvester (PDF)
Macclesfield Conservative Association (PDF) Cllr Stockton (PDF)
Cheshire East Green Party (PDF) Cllr Gilbert (PDF) 
Cllr Walker (PDF)
Cllr Crockatt (PDF)
Cllr Whiteley (PDF) Nicholas Winterton MP (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 23 submisions from parish and town councils. All the submissions are contained in one PDF. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish and town council submissions (PDF)

Residents

We received 154 submissions from local residents. All the submissions are contained in six PDF's arranged by surname A-B, C-G, H, J-P, R-T and V-Y. At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Residents A-B (PDF) Residents J-P (PDF)
Residents C-G (PDF) Residents R-T (PDF)
Residents H (PDF) Residents V-Y (PDF)
On 12 May 2009, we started Stage One of the electoral review for the new Cheshire East unitary authority (ended 4 August 2009). In the previous stage, we consulted on the proposed council size for the new council and decided it should have 82 elected members. You may find our advice on warding patterns (PDF) useful.  Please see links below to electorate figures and mapping.

Link to our original press release.

Cheshire East electorate figures and projections (PDF)

Map of parishes of Cheshire East (PDF)

Below are the submissions we received during Stage One:

Cheshire East council

Political groups, councillors and MP's

Cheshire East Conservative Group (PDF)
Cheshire East Green Party (PDF)
Cheshire East Labour Party (PDF)
Cheshire East Liberal Democrats (PDF)
Congleton Conservative Constituency Association (PDF)
Crewe & Nantwich Conservative Constituency Association (PDF)
Odd Rode Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local organisations (PDF)

Parish and town councils

A-H (PDF)I-Z (PDF)

Residents

A-L (PDF)M-Z (PDF)

On 24 February 2009, we started the electoral review for the new Cheshire East unitary authority. During the current six week preliminary stage of the review (until 6 April 2009) we invited proposals for the council size of the new Cheshire East Council. We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we are considering detailed electoral arrangements for Cheshire East during two further periods of consultation later in 2009.

Original press release (PDF)

Below are the submissions we received:

Cheshire East Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Alsager Town Council (PDF)
Barthomley Parish Council (PDF)
Bollington Parish Council (PDF)
Bunbury Parish Council (PDF)
Church Lawston Parish Council (PDF)
Church Minshull Parish Council (PDF)
Congleton Town Council (PDF)
Disley Parish Council (PDF)
Haslington Parish Council (PDF)
Holmes Chapel Parish Council (PDF)
Hough & Chorlton Parish Council (PDF)
No Man's District Heath & District Parish Council (PDF)
Poynton Parish Council (PDF)
Rainow Parish Council (PDF)
Weston & Basford Parish Council (PDF)

Political organisations

Cheshire East Labour Local Government Committee (PDF)
Congleton Constituency Liberal Democrats - Sandbach & Odd Rode Branch (PDF)
Congleton Constituency Liberal Democrats (PDF)
Crewe & Nantwich Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Arnold (PDF)
Cllr Griffiths (PDF)
Cllr Clarke (PDF)
Cllr Briercliffe (PDF)

Residents

Dr & Mrs H. A. Lanceley (PDF)
Dr & Mrs J. W. Lethbridge (PDF)
Mr & Mrs E Avery (PDF)
Mr & Mrs S Millar (PDF)
Mr & Mrs Titley (PDF)
Mr D Hughes (PDF)
Mr D Hardisty (PDF)
Mr E Harrison (PDF)
Mr G Downing (PDF)
Mr J Bibby (PDF)
Mr K Edwards (PDF)
Mr P Darnes (PDF)
Mr P Sears (PDF)
Mr P Hirst (PDF)
Mr R Fletcher (PDF)
Mrs B Pownall (PDF)
Mrs J Saunt (PDF)
Mrs J Fenton (PDF)
N. G. Morton (PDF)

Sound & District Residents' Association (PDF)

We have produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: 

Letter sent to Chief Executive of the Shadow Authority at the beginning of the review (PDF)
Letter sent to Parish and local Councils at the beginning of the review (PDF)