LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Redcar and Cleveland

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map View our Draft Recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Redcar and Cleveland.

On 6 February 2018, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council. Between 6 February 2018 and 16 April 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.


As a result of our recommendations for new warding patterns, we are making changes to the parish electoral arrangements for the following parish and town councils: 


To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Redcar and Cleveland electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Redcar and Cleveland)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council closed on 4 December 2017

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation: 

Political  Groups

Conservative Group

Independent Group

Labour Group

Liberal Democrats Group 

Councillors

Cllr Steve Kay and Christine Kingham 

Parish Councillors

Cllr Vera Rider 

Local Organisations

Boosbeck Looking Good

Friday Friends

Neighbourhood  Action Partnership 

Parish and Town Councils

Lockwood Parish Council

Saltburn, Marske & New Marske Parish Council 

Residents 

A-Z 


On 26 September 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council. Between 26 September 2017 and 4 December 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

 

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council should have 59 councillors in the future.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council and may contain boundary errors.

Redcar and Cleveland polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Council Size Submission

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 16 October 2001 following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report, published on 15 October 2002

Map 1 Existing wards in Redcar and Cleveland

Map 2 Final recommendations for Redcar and Cleveland

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3, A4 and the large map

Map A2 Proposed ward boundaries for Guisborough town

Map A3 Proposed boundaries between Lockwood and Brotton wards

Map A4 Proposed boundaries between Lockwood and Belmont wards

Large map illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for The Western Urban Core and Redcar

Draft report, published on 14 May 2002 by the LGCE.

Map 1 Existing wards in Redcar and Cleveland

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Redcar and Cleveland

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3, A4 and the large map

Map A2, Map A3, Map A4, Map A5, Large map

A structural review of Cleveland County Council and County Durham was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 14 September 1992

Final report (PDF) published in November 1993

Draft report (PDF) published 10 May 1993

 

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 26 September 2017
4 December 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 6 February 2018
16 April 2018
Final recommendations published 22 May 2018

Useful Documents

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more