Draft and final recommendation reports for Middlesbrough, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Middlesbrough

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Middlesbrough between June 2012 - May 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Middlesbrough councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Middlesbrough (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Middlesbrough, was made on 7 May 2014 and was published 13 May 2014). New ward arrangements for Middlesbrough have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Middlesbrough can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1188/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 26 February 2014 the Middlesbrough (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for Englands review of electoral arrangements in Middlesbrough and published in 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Middlesbrough in 2015.

The Order can be found here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111110188  

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 19 November 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Middlesbrough Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note the map is very large and make time time to load.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Middlesbrough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

We received 9 submissions (PDF) from district councillors

Local Residents

We received 19 submissions (PDF) from local residents

Local Authority

Middlesbrough Council (PDF)

Members of Parliament

A McDonald MP (PDF)

Local Organisations

Acklam 2020 (PDF)

Acklam Community Council (PDF)

Brookfield Community Council (PDF)

Marton West Community Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Middlesbrough Labour Group (PDF)

 


 

On 14 May 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Middlesbrough Council. Between 14 May 2013 and 5 August 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.
On 27 November 2012, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Middlesbrough Council. Between 27 November 2012 and 18 February 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Political groups and councillors

Parish council, community councils and local organisations

Local residents

We received 35 submissions from local residents in Middlesbrough. All submissions are contained in one document.

Below is a map of the existing wards in Middlesbrough - Click on the image for more detail:

To view an interactive map of the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

Electoral figures will shortly be available.

On 26 June 2012  we started an electoral review of Middlesbrough Council. From 26 June 2012 to 6 August 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Middlesbrough.

Consultation closed on 6 August 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

Cllr Cox (PDF)

Local organisations

Ayersome Community Council (PDF)

Local residents

Armstrong R (PDF)

Gunn K (PDF)

Harris R (PDF)

Lane D (PDF)

Leslie N (PDF)

Relph J (PDF)

Walker (PDF)

Warren A (PDF)

West D (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Middlesbrough council, political groups and councillors. The submissions are available below.

The Commission has considered these submissions and has sought views on its proposals for a council size of 46 members for Middlesbrough Council. 

A letter to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012. 

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

 



As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Middlesbrough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received five submissions on council size:

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 16 October 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report, published on 15 October 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards in Middlesbrough

Map 2 Final recommendations for Middlesbrough

Large map illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Middlesbrough

Draft report, published on 14 May 2002 by the LGCE.

Map 1 Existing wards in Middlesbrough

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Middlesbrough

Large map 1 illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Middlesbrough