Draft and final recommendation reports for Hartlepool, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hartlepool

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Hartlepool between July 2010 - January 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Hartlepool councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Hartlepool (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hartlepool, was made on 3 January 2012. New ward arrangements for Hartlepool have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 3 May 2012.

The order for Hartlepool can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/3/pdfs/uksi_20120003_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 November 2011 the Hartlepool (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for Hartlepool click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Hartlepool and published on 27 September 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hartlepool in 2012.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 27 September 2011 we published the final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hartlepool. These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Hartlepool Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 29 March 2011 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Hartlepool Borough Council. Between 29 March and 20 June we invited comments on the ward boundaries in the authority. 

Consultation closed on 20 June 2011.

Below are the representations we received:

Local Authority

Hartlepool Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors, elected officials and political groups

Cllr Gibbon (PDF) 

Cllr Hall (PDF)

Cllr Lauderdale (PDF)

Cllr A Lilley (PDF)

Cllr G Lilley (PDF)

Cllr Marshall (PDF)

Cllr Thompson (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Elwick Parish Council (PDF)

Greatham Parish Council (PDF)

Hart Parish Council submission 1 (PDF) and submission 2 (PDF)

Headland Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Burn Valley North Residents Association submission 1 (PDF) and submission 2 (PDF)

Burn Valley Rejuvination Consortium (PDF)

Fens Residents Association (PDF)

Oxford Road Baptist Church (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 44 submissions from local residents, all of which are contained in the same file.

All Local Residents (PDF)

Petitions

We received two petitions, which are listed by the area they represent:

Burn Valley/Middleton area (PDF)

Headland area (PDF)

 



Our Draft Recommendations can be found using the links below: 

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

On 28 September 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Hartlepool Borough Council. Between 28 September and 20 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Hartlepool Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the map of the electorate useful. Here are the electorate figures (PDF) for Hartlepool.

Consultation closed on 20 December 2010.  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Hartlepool Borough Council (PDF)

Councillors, elected officials and political groups

Cllr Barker (PDF)

Cllr Lilley (PDF)

Cllr London (PDF)

Cllr Preece (PDF)

Cllr Thompson (PDF)

Cllr Wright (PDF) 

Mayor Drummond (PDF)

Association of Independent Councillors of Hartlepool  (PDF) 

Conservative Group on Hartlepool Borough Council (PDF)

Hartlepool Constituency Labour Party (PDF) 

Parish and town councils

Elwick Parish Council (PDF)

Greatham Parish Council (PDF)

Hart Parish Council (PDF)

Joint submission from Dalton, Elwick, Hart, Greatham and Newton Bewley Parish Councils (PDF)

Local organisations

Clavering and Hart Station Residents' Association (PDF)

Dent/Derwent Area Residents' Association (PDF) 

Furness Cameron and Belk Street Residents' Association (PDF)  

We received 49 identical submissions from the Furness Cameron and Belk Street area.

Local Residents

We received 54 submissions from local residents in Hartlepool. The submissions are contained in two PDF documents. At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents A - M (PDF)

Local residents N-Y (PDF)

We received 12 submissions from local residents in the Dent/Derwent Area which are contained in one PDF.

Local residents in Dent/Derwent (PDF) 

Late submissions

We received seven late submissions from local residents which are contained in one PDF. 

Local residents - late (PDF) 

On 20 July 2010 we started the electoral review for Hartlepool Borough Council. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Hartlepool during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Below are the submissions we received: 

Local authority

Hartlepool Borough Council (PDF)

Mayor of Hartlepool (PDF)

Councillors and political groups

Rossmere ward councillors (PDF)

Seaton ward councillors (PDF)

Hartlepool Branch U.K. Independence Party (PDF)

Local organisations

Furness, Cameron & Belk Residents Association (PDF)

New Deal for Communities Partnership (PDF)

Rift House Neighbourhood Action Plan Forum (PDF)

Parish councils

Elwick Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

M Dickson (PDF)

G Lilley (PDF)

M Ward (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area:

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 16 October 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the review can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report, published on 21 January 2003.

Map 1 Existing wards in Hartlepool

Map 2 Final recommendations for Hartlepool

Large map, illustrates the proposed ward boundaries.

Draft report, published on 14 May 2002.

Map 1 Existing wards in Hartlepool

Map 2 Draft recommendations for Hartlepool

Large map, illustrates the proposed ward boundaries.