Draft and final recommendation reports for Darlington, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Darlington

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Darlington between June 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Darlington councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Darlington (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Darlington, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published on 22 December 2014. New ward arrangements for Darlington have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Darlington can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3338/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 23 October 2014 the Darlington (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Darlington and published on 12 August 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Darlington in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122129/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 12 August 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Darlington Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Darlington Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Darlington Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Darlington Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 11 March 2014  we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Darlington Borough Council. Between 11 March 2014 and 20 May 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 20 May 2014

Below you can find the submissions we received:

Local residents

Boden K (PDF)

Cuthbertson B (PDF)

Dawson M (PDF)

Dowse P (PDF)

Welch N (PDF)

Wheeler J (PDF)

Representation from an officer at Darlington Borough Council

Whitehead C (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Bishopton Parish Council (PDF)

Brafferton Parish Meeting (PDF)

Middleton-St-George Parish Council (PDF)

Sadberge Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Darlington Labour Group (PDF)

Darlington Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Councillors

Councillor Galletley (PDF)

Councillor Jones (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Darlington Borough Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Darlington

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Darlington Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. 

On 24 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Darlington Borough Council. Between 24 September 2013 and 10 December 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 10 December 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Darlington Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Harvey S (PDF)

Political Groups

Liberal Democrat Party Group (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Darlington Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area.

On 25 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Darlington Borough Council. From 25 June to 6 August we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Darlington in the future.

Consultation closed on 6 August 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 19 submissions (PDF) from local residents

Local organisations

Darlington Local Government branch of UNISON (PDF)

Central Community Partnership (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Darlington Borough Council. Their submission is available below. The Commission is seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 50 members for Darlington Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

You may find a map of the polling districts (PDF) or the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the number of councillors for the district.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013 and 2014.


As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Darlington Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Darlington Council (PDF)

Annexe 1 (PDF)

Annexe 2 (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published on 15 May 2001

Map 1 Existing wards in Darlington;

Map 2  The Commission's final recommendations for Darlington;

Map A1 Final recommendations for Darlington: Key map;

Large map (4.7 Mb) illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for Darlington town;

Draft report, published on 12 December 2000

Map 1 Existing wards in Darlington;

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Darlington;

Large map (4.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Darlington;