Draft and final recommendation reports for the County Durham unitary authority carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

County Durham UA

The Commission carried out an electoral review of County Durham between July 2008 - May 2012. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each County Durham councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Information regarding past electoral reviews of the Durham County Council, prior to it becoming a unitary authority, which replaced the county and district councils on 1 April 2009, can be found here.

Recommendations become law

The Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Durham, was made on 25 May 2012 and published on 30 May 2012.

New electoral division arrangements for Durham have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Durham can be viewed through the following link - www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/1394/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 19 March 2012 the Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft (electoral changes) order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Durham and published 1 November 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Durham in 2013.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 1 November 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in County Durham. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Durham County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 24 May 2011 we published our further draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Durham County Council. Between 24 May 2011 and 1 August we invited comments on the division boundaries in the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 August 2011.

Below are the representations we received:

Local Authority

Durham County Council (PDF)

Councillors, MPs and Political Groups

We received 31 submissions from Councillors, MPs and political groups, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All Councillors, MPs and Political Groups (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 34 submissions from parish and town councils, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All parish and town councils (PDF)

Local Organisations 

We received 16 submissions from local organisations, which you can find grouped in this PDF file:

All local organisations (PDF)

Local Residents 

We received 126 submissions from local residents, which are grouped by surname in the below PDF files:

Local residents A - F (PDF)

Local residents G - L (PDF)

Local residents M - P (PDF)

Local residents R - W (PDF)

Our further draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of the maps are very large and may take some time to download.

The publication of our final recommendations for Durham County Council has been delayed until 2011. This is due to new information provided by Durham County Council on the electoral register. 

Read our news release for more information.

Following our analysis of the submissions received during Stage Three, we sought further views in some areas of County Durham.   

On 12 February we published a news release.

The further consultation closed on 26 March 2010

Below are the responses we received to our further consultation.  Because of the number of submissions received, we have not uploaded these as individual documents.

Response to further consultation from the County Council 

Responses to further consulation in Chester-le-Street North

Responses to further consultation in Chester-le-Street South

Responses to further consultation in Durham City

Responses to further consultation in Great Aycliffe

Responses to further consultation in Shildon

Responses to further consultation in South East of Durham

Responses to further consultation in Tow Law and Crook

Please note: some of these documents may be large and may take some time to download.

On 15 September 2009 we published our draft recommendations (PDF) for electoral arrangements for Durham County Council.  We also published a summary of the report (PDF) and a news release.

Amendment to the draft recommendations (PDF)

Maps of the area: Map 1 (PDF), Map 2 (PDF), Map 3 (PDF), Map 4 (PDF), Map 5 (PDF), Map 6 (PDF), Map 7 (PDF), Map 8 (PDF) , Map 9 (PDF), Map 10 (PDF), Map 11 (PDF) and Map 12 (PDF)
Please note: some of these maps may be large and may take some time to download.

Below are the responses we received during this consultation.  Due to the number of submissions received we have not uploaded these as individual documents.

Durham Council

Durham Council submission (PDF)
Durham Council submission appendix 1 (PDF)
Durham Council submission appendix 2 (PDF)

MPs and political groups

We received 16 submissions from MPs, political parties and political groups in County Durham.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

MPs, political parties and political groups in County Durham (PDF)

Councillors

We received 17 submissions from unitary councillors.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Councillors on Durham County Council (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 46 submissions from parish and town councils.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Parish and town councils in County Durham (PDF)

Residents

We received 121 submissions from local residents.  All the submissions are contained in three PDF documents, arranged by surname: A-G, H-P or Q-Z.  At the front of each document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Local residents A-G (PDF)
Local residents H-P (PDF)
Local residents Q-Z (PDF)

We also received an additional submission which is not included in the above collated submissions - Mrs T Sinclair (PDF)

Non-political organisations

We received 24 submissions from Residents Associations, Community Groups, Action Area Partnerships and other non-political groups and organisations.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Residents and Community Associations, AAPs and non-political groups in County Durham (PDF)

Petitions

We received eight petitions and groups of standard letters.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Petitions and groups of standard letters from residents in County Durham (PDF)

Late submissions

These submissions were recieved after the closing date for submissions.  All the submissions are contained in one PDF document.  At the front of the document there is a list with internal links to the relevant submissions. 

Late Submissions (PDF)

On 17 March 2009, we started Stage One of the electoral review for the new County Durham unitary authority. In the previous stage, we consulted on the proposed council size for the new council and decided it should have 126 elected members. 

Link to original press release.
Letter sent to Chief Executives of County and District Councils for Stage One (PDF)
Letter sent to Parish and local Councils for Stage One (PDF)
Electoral figures for County Durham by polling district
We also provided advice on division patterns (PDF), list of electorate figures (PDF), map of parished areas (PDF) and map of unparished areas (PDF).

Below are the submissions we received.

Durham Council

Durham Council submission overview (PDF)
Durham Council submission appendix (PDF)

Political groups and councillors

Councillor Bell on behalf of the Conservative group (PDF)
Councillor Ord and Councillor Thompson (PDF)Councillor Woods (PDF)
City of Durham Constituency Labour Party (PDF)
Councillor Ken Holroyd (PDF)
North West Durham Constituency Labour Party (PDF)
Durham City Liberal Democrats (PDF)
Councillor Mac Williams (PDF)
Councillor Alan Sheild (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Brandon & Byshottles Parish Council (PDF)
Cornforth Parish Council (PDF)
Dalton-le-Dale Parish Council (PDF)Ferryhill Town Council (PDF)
Great Aycliffe Town Council (PDF)
Horden Parish Council (PDF)
Lanchester Parish Council (PDF)
Lynesack and Softley Parish Council (PDF)Murton Parish Council (PDF)North Lodge Parish Council (PDF)
Peterlee Town Council (PDF)
Sherburn Village Parish Council (PDF)
Shildon Parish Council (PDF)
Shincliffe Parish Council (PDF)
Spennymoor Town Council 1 (PDF)
Spennymoor Town Council 2 (PDF)
Stanhope Parish Council (PDF) Trimdon Parish Council (PDF)
Trimdon Foundary Parish Council (PDF)
Tow Law Town Council (PDF)Urpeth and Pelton Parish Council (PDF)West Auckland Parish Council (PDF)Witton Gilbert Parish Council (PDF)

Letters regarding parishing arrangements (PDF)

Residents

D Adair (PDF)J Airey (PDF)
A Arthur (PDF)LM Aunger (PDF)
AM Chandran (PDF)K Henderson (PDF) G Holbrook (PDF)
D Llewellyn (PDF)
R Liddle (PDF)
W Salvin (PDF)
J Sheppard (PDF)J Usher (PDF)

Non-political organisations

Dene Bank Residents Association (PDF)
Durham Police Authority (PDF)
Ferryhill Community Partnership (PDF)
Ferryhill Station and Chilton Lane Residents Association (PDF)
Hamsterley Mill Residents Association (PDF)
Hilltop Village Partnership (PDF)
Sedgefield Village Forum (PDF)

On 1 July 2008, we started an electoral review of the new County Durham council. During the first stage of the review (to 15 September 2008) we invited proposals for the future council size of the new council. We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider electoral arrangements during two further periods of consultation.

Below are the submissions we received.

Durham County Council

Durham County Council submission (PDF)
Durham County Council additional submission (PDF)

Local authorities and councillors

Councillor Bell (PDF)
Councillor Crosby (PDF)Councillor Ord (PDF)Councillor Shuttleworth (PDF)Councillor Wolstenholme (PDF)

Parish and town councils and councillors

Belmont Parish Council (PDF)Brandon & Byshottles Parish Council (PDF)Cornforth Parish Council (PDF)Cornsay Parish Council (PDF)Coxhoe Parish Council (PDF)
Etherley Parish Council (PDF) Ferryhill Town Council (PDF)
Lanchester Parish Council (PDF)
Monk Hesleden Parish Council (PDF)Murton Parish Council (PDF)Seaham Town Council (PDF)
Sedgefield Town Council (PDF)
Shildon Town Council (PDF)
Stanhope Parish Council (PDF)
Tow Law Town Council (PDF)Urpeth and Pelton Parish Council (PDF)Wingate Parish Council (PDF) Councillor Ducker (PDF)

Political organisations and MPs

City of Durham Constituency Labour Party (PDF)
Kevan Jones MP (PDF)

Local organisations

County Durham Association of Local Councils (PDF)

Residents

E Potts (PDF)
J Bird (PDF)P Stradling (PDF)R Johnston (PDF)

Other information

Original press release (PDF)

Letter sent to Chief Executives of County Council at the beginning of the review (PDF)Letter sent to Parish and local Councils at the beginning of the review (PDF)