Draft and final recommendation reports for the London Borough of Tower Hamlets, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Tower Hamlets

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Tower Hamlets between March 2012 - July 2013. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Tower Hamlets councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Tower Hamlets (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new ward boundaries in Tower Hamlets, was made on 17 July 2013.

New electoral ward arrangements for Tower Hamlets have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled borough elections in 2014.

The order for Tower Hamlets can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2013/1786

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 June 2013 The Tower Hamlets (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Tower Hamlets in 2014.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111539903/contents 

The draft order refers to a map.

The map comprises the following sheets: Sheet 1 - Overview (PDF)

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of the London Borough of Tower Hamlets. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2014.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the London Borough of Tower Hamlets. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013, we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Mayor of Tower Hamlets formal representation (PDF)

Mayor of Tower Hamlets on East India & Lansbury (PDF)

Mayor of Tower Hamlets on Spitalfields & Banglatown (PDF)

Tower Hamlets Conservative group submission (PDF)

Full Council motion 28 November 2012 (PDF)

Tower Hamlets Labour group submission (PDF)

MPs and Councillors

Rushanara Ali MP (PDF)

We received 13 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Councillors (PDF)

We also received two additional submissions from Councillors at Tower Hamlets after the consultation date.

Cllr Golds (PDF)

Cllrs Aston & Jones (PDF)

Petitions 

We received 160 signatures from Community Network opposing proposals for Bromley-by-Bow ward. An example of the petition is contained in the link below. 


Community Network - Bromley-by-Bow ward (PDF)

We received 1352 signatures opposing the reduction in council size to 45 and the renaming of Spitalfields & Banglatown ward. An example of the petition is contained in the link below. 

Community Network - Number of Councillors and Spitalfields & Banglatown ward (PDF)

We received 99 signatures opposing the renaming of East India & Lansbury ward. An example of the petition is contained in the link below.

Save East India & Lansbury ward Campaign (PDF)

We received 1472 signatures opposing the renaming of Spitalfields & Banglatown ward. An example of the petition is contained in the link below. 

Save Banglatown Campaign (PDF)

We received 326 signatures from Tower Hamlets Labour Party opposing the renaming of Spitalfields & Banglatown ward. An example of the petition is contained in the link below.

Tower Hamlets Labour Party - Spitalfields and Banglatown (PDF) 

Local Organisations

We received 10 submissions from local organisations. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Organisations (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 72 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in two separate documents. At the front of the documents there are a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents - surnames A - J (PDF)

Local Residents - surnames K - W (PDF) 

We also received an additional submission after the consultation date.

LeMoine E (PDF)

Click below to view the report, summary, news release and letter to the Head of Paid Service at Tower Hamlets.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures for Tower Hamlets (XLS) and a map of the existing wards (PDF) useful.


Following preliminary discussions with Tower Hamlets Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 11 September we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Tower Hamlets, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Tower Hamlets Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 45 for Tower Hamlets. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Tower Hamlets Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

We have received revised electoral forecasts (XLS) for Tower Hamlets. You may also find a map of the existing wards (PDF) useful.

The consultation closed on 11 September 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Mayor of Tower Hamlets (PDF)

Labour Group (PDF)

Conservative Group (PDF)

London assembly member and MPs

John Biggs AM (PDF)

Rushanara Ali MP (PDF)

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (PDF)

Local organisations

London Dockers Club (PDF)

Local residents

Frankcom J - Proposal (PDF)

Madewell S (PDF)

Smith A submission (PDF) and Addendum (PDF)

Late submissions

We also received 5 submissions submitted after the consultation closed on 11 September 2012.

Community Network (PDF)

Hossain I (PDF)

Cllr Aston (PDF)

Limehouse Community Forum (PDF) 

Labour Group submission (PDF)

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Council size consultation

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Tower Hamlets Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Tower Hamlets in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the Mayor of Tower Hamlets, political groups and local councillors. Their submissions are available under Preliminary council size consultation. The Commission considered these submissions and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 45 members for Tower Hamlets Council.

Consultation closed on 8 May 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups, MP's & Councillors

Tower Hamlets Conservative Group (PDF)

Labour Group (PDF)

Jim Fitzpatrick MP (PDF)

Cllr Gold (PDF)

Cllr Khan (PDF)

Cllr Turner (PDF)

Cllr Uddin (PDF)

Cllr Davis (PDF)

Local organisations

Jesus Hospital Estate Residents' Association (PDF)

Local residents

Bramley J (PDF)

Cove J (PDF)

Fernandes N (PDF)

Frankcom J (PDF) and an additional submission from Frankcom J (PDF)

Hassell D (PDF)

Hussaine M (PDF)

Mills G (PDF)

Smith A (PDF)

Williams S (PDF)

We also received four anonymous submissions:

Anonymous1 (PDF)Anonymous 2 (PDF)Anonymous 3 (PDF)Anonymous 4 (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Tower Hamlets Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Tower Hamlets Council). We received six submissions on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 22 September 1998.

Final report, Published on 7 September 1999

Draft report, published on 23 March 1999.