Draft and final recommendation reports for Southwark, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Southwark

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of between September 2015 - November 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Southwark councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Southwark, was made on 23 November 2016.

New ward arrangements for Southwark have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2018.

The order for Southwark can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/1202/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 September 2016 the London Borough of Southwark (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Southwark and published on 6 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Southwark in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111149737/introduction

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 19th July 2016 we published final recommendations for the future electoral arrangements in Southwark. The report is available at the link below. 

 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above or visit our consultation area.

We have now completed our electoral review of Southwark. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation Closed on 4th April 2016

Local Resident:

All the local resident submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

Local Residents surnames A-L (PDF)

Local Residents surnames M-Z (PDF)

Local Organisations:

D'Eynsford Temant Management Organisation (PDF)

Herne Hill Society (PDF)

Southwark MET Police (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Barber (PDF)

Cllr Briggs (PDF)

Cllr Lyons (PDF)

Cllr Mitchell (PDF)

Political Groups:

Southwark Green Party (PDF)

Southwark Labour Party (PDF)

Southwark Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Anonymous:

Anonymous (PDF)

 

On 9 February 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the London Borough of Southwark. Between 9 February 2016 and 4 April 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

* Draft recommendations for the London Borough of Southwark (PDF)

* Summary of the report (PDF)

* News release on draft recommendations for the London Borough of Southwark

* Letter sent to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Southwark (PDF)

* An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the Commission's draft recommendations.

The Polling District Map below may also be useful when thinking about the draft recommendations. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the London Borough of Southwark and may contain boundary errors.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 16 November 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Crookshank-Hilton R (PDF)

Healy J (PDF)

Hyde B (PDF)

Kennedy Z (PDF)

Knight D (PDF)

Knight D (PDF)

Kinsely A (PDF)

Miller L (PDF)

Rt Hon Sir Simon Hughes (PDF)

Local Organisations

Red Post Hill Resident Committee (PDF)

Political Groups

Southwark Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Southwark Labour Group (PDF)

London Assembly Members

Caroline Pidgeon AM (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Mitchell (PDF)

Cllr Barber (PDF)

On 8 September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the London Borough of Southwark. Between 8 September 2015 and 16 November 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the London Borough of Southwark should have 63 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Southwark to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 63 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Southwark (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

The Polling District Map below may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the London Borough of Southwark and may contain boundary errors.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the London Borough of Southwark on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Southwark Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 22 September 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 7 September 1999

Draft report, (PDF) published on 23 March 1999.