Draft and final recommendation reports for the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.


" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Kensington and Chelsea

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea between June 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Kensington & Chelsea councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Kensington and Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Kensington and Chelsea, was made on 9 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014.

New ward arrangements for Kensington and Chelsea have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2014.

The order for Kensington and Chelsea can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/25/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 7 November the Kensington & Chelsea (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Kensington & Chelsea and published on 24 September 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Kensington & Chelsea in 2014.

To view the draft order please visit:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105696/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Kensington & Chelsea

On 24 September 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea Council. The report is available in the link below.

It has come to our attention that our final recommendations report requires two clarifications to accurately reflect the submission received from the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. To read the full erratum please click here.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. (Please note the map is very large).

We have now completed our electoral review of Kensington & Chelsea Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2014.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

Consultation closed on 10 June 2013

Below are the Submissions we received:

Local Residents

44 submissions from residents A - L (PDF)

22 submissions from residents M - Z (PDF)

We also received a submission from

Nowrouzi A (PDF)

Community Groups

20 submissions from community groups (PDF)

We also received a submission from

Earls Court Community Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Campbell (PDF)

Cllr Coleridge (PDF)

Cllr Holt (PDF)

Cllr Professor Coates (PDF)

Cllr Rutherford (PDF)

Cllr Weale (PDF)

Quens Gate Councillors (PDF)

Local Authority

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea (PDF)

Members of Parliament

Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP (PDF)

On 19 March 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. Between 19 March 2013 and 10 June 2013 we are inviting comments on the proposed wards, their boundaries and ward names. The recommendations can be found using the links below.

Consultation on warding arrangements

On 25 September 2012 we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. Between 25 September and 3 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 3 December 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups

Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea Labour Group (PDF)

Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea Conservative Group (PDF)

Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr A Coates (PDF)

Local organisations

Allom & Barlow Residents Association (PDF)

Cremorne Residents Association of Lots Village (PDF)

Golborne Forum (PDF)

Sydney St & District Resident's Association (PDF)

The Chelsea Society (PDF)

The Central London Community Healthcare Trust (PDF)

Local residents

Blanchflower S (PDF)

Gray A (PDF)

Sir Michael Craig-Cooper (PDF)

The Earl Cadogan (PDF)

Viscount Chelsea (PDF)

To view a map of the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can register to receive a reminder of our draft recommendations consultation in March 2013.

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Kensington & Chelsea (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures for Kensington & Chelsea (XLS) and guidance on ' how to propose a pattern of wards' useful. This is available on our Guidance page.

Council size consultation

On 26 June 2012 we started an electoral review of Kensington & Chelsea Council. From 26 June 2012 to 6 August 2012 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Kensington & Chelsea.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Kensington & Chelsea Council. The submission is available below; under preliminary council size.

The Commission has considered the submission and has sought views on its proposals for a council size of 51 members for Kensington & Chelsea Council. 

A letter to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012. 

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 6 August 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Organisations

St Astell Residents Association (PDF)

Golborne Forum (PDF)

St Helens Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

Elliot L (PDF)

Gray A (PDF)

Hammond G (PDF)

Taylor F (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Kensington & Chelsea Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 22 September 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 7 September 1999

Draft report, (PDF) published on 23 March 1999.