LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hackney

image map Final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Hackney to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the borough which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Hackney.

Our review aims to ensure that each Hackney councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.


Recommendations become law

The Hackney (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hackney, was made on 30 October 2013 and was published 4 November 2013.

New ward arrangements for Hackney have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2014.

The order for Hackney can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/2795/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 18 July 2013 the Hackney (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Hackney and published on 26 August 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hackney in 2014.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111101841/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hackney

On 16 April 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hackney. These are available through the links below.

Further consultation in Hackney

On 8 January 2013 the Commission began further limited consultation in Hackney. At its meeting on 11 December 2012 the Commission decided to undertake further consultation in response to the views put forward during the draft recommendations consultation. The Commission proposed to make three substantial changes to the plans it put forward last year and residents were invited to have their say from 8 January 2013 to 19 February 2013.

Consultation closed on 19 February 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups and MPs

Hackney Conservatives (PDF)

Hackney Labour Group (PDF)

Hillier M (PDF)

Local organisations

Wenlock Barn TMO (PDF)

Local residents

AltassL (PDF)

Fox C (PDF) 

Hunter G (PDF)

Jacobson G (PDF)

Neidich-Swartz E (PDF)

Sharer I (PDF)

Thompson R (PDF)

Walker J (PDF)

Watson P (PDF)

Petition with 64 signatories from the residents of Braydon Road (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hackney Council (PDF) and our public news release provide more information on the review.

The limited consultation focused on three parts of Hackney where the Commission proposed to alter its draft recommendations for new ward boundaries.

  • In Hoxton and Shoreditch, the Commission proposed two three-member wards called Hoxton East & Shoreditch alongside a Hoxton West ward instead of the three two-member wards originally proposed for the south west of the borough. View a map of these proposals (PDF)
  • In central Hackney, the Commission made several changes to its original proposals for the boundaries between the proposed Dalston, Hackney Central and Shacklewell wards. View a map of this area (PDF)
  • In the north east of the borough, the Commission proposed to change its draft recommendations to include a three-member Cazenove ward bordered by a three-member Springfield ward. This proposal replaces the Commission's original recommendation for a three-member Stamford Hill East ward and a three-member Upper Clapton ward. View a map of the new proposals (PDF)

The Commission's final recommendations for new warding arrangements in Hackney were due to be published in December 2012.

Draft Recommendations

On 17 July 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the London Borough of Hackney. These can be found using the links below.

Map of the area recommendations:

Please note: this map may be large and take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 24 September 2012

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Authority

Hackney Council (PDF)

Member of Parliament

Meg Hillier MP (PDF)

Cllrs and political groups

Hackney Labour Group (PDF)

Hackney Conservatives (PDF)

Hackney Liberal Democrats petition (PDF)

Cllr Akhoon (PDF)

Cllr Daniels (PDF)

Cllr Rennison (PDF)

Cllr Stops (PDF)

Local organisations

We recieved nine submissions from local organisations (PDF). All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submisson.

We also received the following 7 additional submissions from local organisations.

Local Organisations (PDF) 

Local residents

We recieved 13 submissions from local residents (PDF). All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submisson.

We also received the following 8 additional submissions from local residents.

Local residents (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode. 

You may find the electoral figures for Hackney (XLS) useful when looking through the draft recommendations. 

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 15 February the Commission launched a period of information gathering with Hackney London Borough Council. From 15 February 2012 to 20 April 2012 we invited Hackney Council and members of the council to provide information to develop a new pattern of ward arrangements for Hackney.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Political Parties

Preliminary council size consultation

The Commission will be starting an electoral review of Hackney in 2012. As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Hackney Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Hackney Council). We received two submissions on council size.

Local Authority 

Member of Parliament

Meg Hillier MP (PDF)

Political Parties 

The Commission is currently considering these proposals and a full timetable will be published in mid March.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 22 September 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 7 September 1999

Draft report, (PDF) published on 23 March 1999.