LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Bexley

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of the London Borough of Bexley.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend new ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across the London Borough of Bexley.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 January 2017 the London Borough of Bexley (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Bexley, which were published on 8 November 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Bexley in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153413

On 8 November 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the London Borough of Bexley. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Bexley. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Bexley to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

This consultation closed on 12 September 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received during the consultation on the further limited draft recommendations:

Local Residents:

C Ball

S Boxall

D Carr

P Chapman

J Elkington

M Evennett

M Khamo

K McLaren

P O'Neill

E Pallen

S Soutar

P West

P West 2

M White

L Woodgate

Councillors:

Cllr Borella

Cllr Leaf

Cllr Marriner

MP:

Rt Hon David Evennett MP

Teresa Pearce MP

Political Groups:

Bexleyheath & Crayford Conservative Association

Bexley Conservative Group Cllrs

Erith & Thamesmead Conservative Association

Bexley Labour Group

St Michael's Ward BCLP

Local Organisations:

LA21

Slade Green Community Forum


The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England opened a new phase of public consultation in its review of the London Borough of Bexley’s electoral ward boundaries.

The consultation focused on new proposals for borough ward boundaries in Barnehurst, Erith, North End, Northumberland Heath and Slade Green.

Earlier this year, the Commission held a public consultation on proposals for new ward boundaries across Bexley. The Commission listened to the views put to it during consultation and proposed to make changes to the plans to reflect the local evidence received.

Due to the significance of the proposed changes in Barnehurst, Erith, North End, Northumberland Heath and Slade Green, the Commission opened an extra phase of consultation for those areas to see what local people thought of the new recommendations. 

Between 2 August and 12 September 2016 we invited comments on our further limited consultation on draft recommendations.

The Commission proposed to make substantial changes to its draft recommendations for the London Borough of Bexley. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission re-opened its consultation to invite evidence and views about this part of the borough only.

The Commission was satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral wards for the rest of the London Borough of Bexley and therefore did not give consideration to representations about those areas which are not the subject of this extra consultation. The Commission plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole borough in November 2016.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:


You can also read our news release for further information.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on 4th April 2016

Below are all of the submissions we received during the consultation on the draft recommendations:

Councillors:

In the document below we have combined all the submissions we received from Councillors:

Councillors (PDF)

MPs:

Pearce T MP (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Belvedere Community Forum (PDF)

Erith Town Council (PDF)

North Cray Residents Association (PDF)

Slade Green Community Forum (PDF)

St Johns Church (PDF)

Bexley Local Agenda 21 UK (PDF)

Political Groups:

Bexley Heath and Crayford Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Bexley London Borough Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Bexley London Borough Council Labour Group (PDF)

Erith Thamesmead Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Old Bexley and Sidcup Conservative Association (PDF)

Old Bexley and Sidcup Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Residents:

Contained in the documents below are all the submissions we received from local residents:

Local residents A-E (PDF)

Local residents F-O (PDF)

Local residents P-Z (PDF)

Tall G (PDF)

Anonymous:

Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)


On 9 February 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the London Borough of Bexley. Between 9 February 2016 and 4 April 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

* Draft recommendations for the London Borough of Bexley (PDF)

* Summary of the report (PDF)

* News release on draft recommendations for the London Borough of Bexley

* Letter sent to the Director of Regeneration, Communities and Customer Services at the London Borough of Bexley (PDF)

* An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the Commission's draft recommendations.

The Polling District Maps below may also be useful when thinking about the draft recommendations. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the London Borough of Bexley and may contain boundary errors.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation closed on 8th September 2015.

Below are all of the submissions we received during the consultation on the warding arrangements

Local Residents

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant document:

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Beazley (PDF)

Cllr O'Neill (PDF)

MPs

David Evennett MP (PDF)

James Brockenshine MP (PDF)

Local Organisations

Cold Blow Residents Association (PDF)

North Cray Residents Association (PDF)

Political Groups

Bexley Labour Group (PDF)

Erith Thamesmead Conservative Association (PDF)

Old Bexley Sidcup Conservative Association (PDF)

Local Authority

London Borough of Bexley  (PDF)

 


 

On the 8th of September 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the London Borough of Bexley. Between 8th of September 2015 and the 16th of November 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the London Borough of Bexley should have 45 borough councillors in the future, 18 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Bexley to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 borough councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of the London Borough of Bexley (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The Polling District Maps below may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the London Borough of Bexley and may contain boundary errors.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the London Borough of Bexley on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Bexley Council). We received 1 submission on borough size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 4 August 1998.

Final report, (PDF) published on 27 July 1999

Draft report (PDF), published on 2 March 1999.

Review Dates


Dates From Date To
Consultation on warding arrangements 8th September 2015 16th November 2015
Consultation on draft recommendations 9th February 2016 4th April 2016
Consultation on further limited draft recommendations
2nd August 2016
12th September 2016
Final recommendations
8th November 2016