LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Suffolk Structural Review

Our advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Suffolk

The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government asked for our advice about the structure of local government in Suffolk. On 7 December 2009 we gave the Secretary of State our advice and published a report containing Advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Suffolk (PDF)

We also published a summary of the report (PDF)

Next steps


More information on the review process in general, including the Secretary of State's intended approach to taking his statutory decisions, can be found on the Department for Communities and Local Government's website. Here is a link to a letter outlining the Secretary of State's intended approach to decisions in relation to proposals for unitary local government

Independent Financial Consultant (IFC) reports

On 15 June 2009, our indepdendent financial consultants (IFCs) provided their final report on the affordability of our further draft proposals in Suffolk (PDF). This report became available online on 7 December 2009.

Suffolk judicial review

Appeal

On 2 December 2009, the Court of Appeal handed down its judgment in relation to our appeal against the High Court judgment handed down on 10 July. The Court of Appeal found in favour of the Boundary Committee and overturned the High Court decision to quash the further draft proposals in Suffolk.

We are pleased that the Court of Appeal has recognised that the process the Committee followed in formulating its draft proposals in Suffolk was lawful and consistent with the guidance that the Secretary of State issued.

The Committee will now need to meet to consider the judgment and agree the most appropriate next steps in Norfolk, Suffolk and Devon. Read our statement on the judgement here.

Stage six 

On 19 March 2009, we published our further draft proposals for unitary local government in Suffolk.

All representations were due to reach us by 14 May 2009, but the we will consider any resprentations received after this date until a decision is taken on the final advice to the Secretary of State. Any advice we might provide to the Secretary of State must be before her deadline of 15 July 2009. If you have written to us before we will take what you have already said into account.

Further draft proposals report (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

A synopsis of our assessment of the affordability of each further draft proposal can be found through the below links. Please note that the two synopses are based on different financial assumptions. Direct comparisons between them are therefore not appropriate.

Suffolk county unitary authority (PDF) (Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Two county unitary authorities: Ipswich & Felixstowe and Rural Suffolk (PDF) (Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Summary of the indepdent financial consultants' reports on the unitary county can be found here (PDF)

Summary of the independent financial consultants' reports on the two-unitary pattern 'in aggregate' can be found here (PDF)

Press release

Representations on our further draft proposals can be submitted to:
Review Manager
(Suffolk Review)
The Boundary Committee for England
Trevelyan House
Great Peter Street
London SW1P 2HW

Email: reviews@boundarycommittee.org.uk
Or use our online submission form to submit your views.

Representations relating to our further draft proposals will be placed on this webpage.

Please note that if you do not want all or any part of your response or name made public, please state this clearly in the response. Any such request should explain why confidentiality if necessary, but all information may be subject to publication or disclosure as required by law.

Submissions

Please find below the submissions received for our further draft proposals published 19 March 2009.

Submissions by Suffolk local authorities

Joint submission of Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council (PDF)
Joint submission of Forest Heath District Council, St Edmundsbury Borough Council and Waveney District Council (PDF)
Babergh District Council (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council (PDF)
Mid Suffolk District Council (PDF)
Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

Submissions received after 3 June (last updated 7 December)

Submissions received after 14 May (last updated 29 May)

Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town council (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 8 (7 May - 14 May)

Local authorities (PDF)
Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - politcal groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 7 (30 April - 6 May)

Local authorities (PDF)
Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 6 (23 April - 29 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 5 (16 April - 22 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town council (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 4 (9 April - 15 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 3 (2 April - 8 April)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 2 (26 March - 1 April)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 1 (19 March - 25 March)

Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Stages Four and Five

Reports on affordability

We asked independent financial consultants to provide the Committee with an assessment of the affordability of the unitary patterns of local government in Devon, Norfolk and Suffolk that were outlined in our reports published on 7 July 2008.

Following our request, on 21 November 2008, our independent financial consultants (IFCs) provided us with three reports. These considered the likelihood of the individual authorities identified being able to meet the affordability criterion. (These reports have been available on our website since 21 November 2008):

As a result of the new guidance issued in December 2008, we asked the same IFCs to assess these patterns 'in aggregate'. On 20 January we considered the IFCs new reports. These were published on our website on 19 March 2009:

The financial workbooks that were created in support of these documents are found on the Suffolk structural review financial information page.

Stage Three

Submissions

A 12 week period began on 7 July 2008 during which we invited views on our draft proposal. Stage Three ended on 26 September 2008.

After receiving submissions from local authorities in Suffolk, we wrote to Suffolk County Council and Ipswich Borough Council on 27 October 2008 and asked them some questions about what they had submitted. The letters sent can be found below.

Suffolk County Council (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council (PDF)

The responses to the questions can be found below.

Suffolk County Council and Mid-Suffolk District Council (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council (PDF)

Representations received on November 2008 independent financial consultants' reports (PDF) 

Some local authorities sent responses to submissions sent to us by other authorities, these can be found below

Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council response to 'North Haven' business case (PDF)
Mid Suffolk District Council response to submission of St Edmundsbury Borough Council, Forest Heath District Council and Waveney District Council submission (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council response to Suffolk County Council submission (13 October 2008) (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council response to Suffolk County Council submisson (24 October 2008) (PDF)
Letter from Leaders of Labour, Conservative and Liberal Democrats in Ipswich Borough Council (PDF)
Mid Suffolk District Council and Suffolk County Council response to the answers provided by Ipswich Borough Council to our questions regarding the North Haven pattern (PDF)

Submissions received during Stage Three will be placed on our website and updated regularly.

Submissions received from local authorities

Suffolk County Council (PDF)
Babergh District Council (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council (PDF)
Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)
Forest Heath District Council, St Edmundsbury Borough Council, Waveney District Council joint submission (PDF)
Mid Suffolk District Council (PDF)

Submissions received 7 to 21 July 2008

Online submissions (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Councillors (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 22 July to 4 August 2008

Online submissions (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Councillors (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 5 to 18 August 2008

Online submissions (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Councillors (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 19 August to 1 September 2008

Online Submissions (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Residents (Part Five) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local Authorities (PDF)
Emails (Part One) (PDF)
Emails (Part Two) (PDF)

Submissions received 2 September to 15 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town councils) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Residents (Part Five) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Emails (Parishes) (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)

Submissions received 16 September to 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Online submissions (Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part One) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part Two) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Residents (Part Five) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part One) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part Two) (PDF)
Political groups. MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Emails (Local organisations) (PDF)
Emails (Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors) (PDF)
Emails (Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)

Submissions received after 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Online submissions received after November 2008 (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Emails (Local organisations) (PDF)
Emails (Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors) (PDF)
Emails (Political groups, MPs, and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)

Draft proposal

On 7 July 2008 we published our draft proposals for unitary local government in Norfolk and Suffolk (PDF).*
*please note that an amend was made to Table 11 of this report on 16 July 

Maps of the area- A0 Maps:
Two unitary pattern A: Norfolk UA (Unitary Authority) and Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft UA (July 2008): Map 1 (PDF)Map 2 (PDF)
Two unitary pattern B: Norfolk UA and Norwich UA (July 2008): Map 3 (PDF)Map 4 (PDF)
Two unitary pattern B: Norwich UA: Map 5 (PDF)
Suffolk UA and Ipswich and Felixstowe UA (July 2008): Map 6 (PDF), Map 7 (PDF)
Ipswich and Felixstowe UA: Map 8 (PDF)

A4 Maps:
Map 1 - Existing arrangements in Norfolk (PDF)
Map 2- Existing arrangements in Suffolk (PDF)
Map 3 - Existing arrangements in Great Yarmouth and Waveney (PDF)
Map B1 - Division of Waveney under all patterns (PDF)
Map B2 - Draft proposals for Norfolk and Lowestoft - Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B3 - Two Unitary Pattern (A) for Norfolk and Lowestoft: A Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft unitary authority and a Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B4 - Two Unitary Pattern (B) for Norfolk and Lowestoft: A Norwich unitary authority and a Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B5 - Draft proposal for Suffolk (less Lowestoft); an Ipswich and Felixstowe unitary authority and a Suffolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B6 - Single Unitary Pattern for Suffolk (less Lowestoft); a Suffolk unitary authority (PDF)
Please note that some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

A summary of the report (PDF) is also available.

A 12 week period begins on 7 July 2008 during which we invite views on our draft proposal. Stage Three ends on 26 September 2008

You can express your views on our draft proposal using our online submission form.

Please note: If you do not want all or any part of your response or name made public, please contact us immediately to explain why confidentiality is necessary. All information in responses may be subject to publication or disclosure as required by law.

Once we have provided our advice there will then be a further period of four weeks during which representations may be made directly to the Secretary of State.

You can download our poster from Stage Three (PDF) and leaflet from Stage Three (PDF) for more information.

Stage Two

During Stage Two we considered the submissions we received during Stage One

Stage One

Submissions

On 3 March 2008, we started a structural review of Suffolk. During the first stage of the review (to 11 April 2008) we worked with local authorities and other stakeholders to identify potential concepts for new unitary authorities. Below are the submissions we received at Stage One.

You can download our poster from Stage One (PDF) and leaflet from Stage One (PDF) for more information.

We will publish our draft proposals for unitary arrangements in July, at which point representations will be sought from people living in the county.

Suffolk County Council 

Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council submission (PDF)

Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council covering letter one (PDF)

Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council covering letter two (PDF)

Suffolk County Council and Mid Suffolk District Council - appendix (with map) (PDF)

Local authorities and district councillors

Babergh District Council Letter (PDF)
Babergh District Council Appendix (PDF)

Babergh District Council, Ipswich Borough Council, Suffolk Coastal District Council, St Edmundsbury Borough Council, Waveney District Council - proposed map of West Suffolk boundaries (PDF)

Forest Heath District Council Submission (PDF)
Forest Heath District Council letter (PDF)
Forest Heath District Council and St. Edmundsbury Borough Council joint letter (PDF)

Ipswich Borough Council submission (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council letter (PDF)

St Edmundsbury Borough Council submission (PDF)
St Edmundsbury Borough Council Letter - 11 April (PDF)
St Edmundsbury Borough Council Letter - 05 June (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal District Council Letter (PDF)
Suffolk Coastal District Council - 1993/94 Local Government Review survey results (PDF)

Waveney District Council and Suffolk Coastal District Council submission (PDF)
Waveney District Council and Suffolk Coastal District Council letter (PDF)

Ipswich Borough Council, St Edmundsbury Borough Council, Suffolk Coastal District Council, Waveney District Council joint statement (PDF)

Councillor Blundell (PDF)

Councillor Cresswell (PDF)

Councillor Nettleton (PDF)

The contents of the letters below refer to one another, and as such are positioned together

St Edmundsbury Borough Council Letter - 23 May (PDF)
Babergh District Council Letter - 28 May (PDF)
Forest Heath District Council response - 12 June (PDF)

Political groups and MPs

Suffolk Coastal District Council Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Suffolk County Council Labour group (PDF) 

Suffolk County Council Liberal Democrats (PDF)
Great Yarmouth Borough Council, Waveney District Council, Norfolk County Council, Suffolk County Council Labour Groups joint submission (PDF)

Chris Mole MP (PDF)

Bob Blizzard MP (PDF)

Bob Blizzard MP - letter from 'The Beach' (PDF)

Richard Spring MP (PDF)

Mid Suffolk District Council- Suffolk Together, Green and Independent groups (PDF)

Town and parish councils and parish councillors

Bentley parish council (PDF)
Beyton parish council (PDF)
Bramford parish council (PDF)
Bury St Edmunds town council (PDF)
Claydon and Whitton Rural parish council (PDF)
Clare parish council (PDF)
Cretingham, Monweden & Hoo parish council (PDF)
Felixstowe town council (PDF)
Fornham All Saints parish council (PDF)
Framlingham town council (PDF)
Great Barton parish council (PDF)
Great Bealings parish council (PDF)
Halesworth town council (PDF)
Hessett parish council (PDF)
Kesgrave town council (PDF)
Levington and Stratton Hall parish council (PDF)
Little Bealings parish council (PDF)
Little Wratting parish council (PDF)
Martlesham parish council (PDF) 
Mildenhall parish council (PDF) 
Nacton parish council (PDF)
Rushmere St Andrew parish council (PDF)
Peasenhall parish council (PDF) 
Pinewood parish council (PDF)
Playford parish council (PDF)
Redlingfield parish council (PDF)
Reydon parish council (PDF)
Rickinghall parish council (PDF)
Southwold town council (PDF)
Stanton parish council (PDF)
Stowmarket town council (PDF)
Stowmarket town council (30 May submission) (PDF)
Stradbroke parish council (PDF)
Swilland and Witnesham grouped parish councils (PDF)
Waldringfield parish council (PDF)
Westerfield parish council (PDF)
Woodbridge town council (PDF)
Woodbridge town council letter - 20 May (PDF)

Parish councillor Peat (PDF)
Parish councillor Sargeant (PDF)

Local organisations

BOCM Pauls (PDF)
Bury St Edmunds Society (PDF)
Felixstowe Radio Community Interest Company (PDF)
Great Yarmouth and Waveney Primary Care Trust letter (PDF)
Great Yarmouth and Waveney Primary Care Trust key lines of enquiry (PDF)
Hutchinson Ports Ltd (PDF)
Ipswich Chinese Community Association (PDF)
Ipswich Fringe Group of Parishes (PDF) 
Lowestoft and Waveney Chamber of Commerce submission (PDF)
Lowestoft and Waveney Chamber of Commerce letter (PDF)
Optua (PDF)
Orwell Housing Association (PDF)
SLP Engineering (PDF)
Suffolk ACRE (PDF)
Suffolk Family Carers (PDF)
Suffolk New College (PDF)
Suffolk Police Constabulary (PDF)
Suffolk Primary Care Trust (PDF)
Suffolk Preservation Society (PDF)
The Ipswich Society (PDF)

Residents

Ames (PDF)
Croton and Price (PDF)
Dale (PDF)
Forsyth (PDF)
Gee (PDF)
Hayes (PDF)
Holt (PDF)
Moore, B (PDF)
Moore, J (PDF)
Relton (May) (PDF)
Relton (June) (PDF)
Sheepshanks (PDF)
Smith (PDF)
Thomas (PDF)

After receiving concepts from local authorities and local political organisations, we formulated questions to ask those who had submitted the concepts in order to clarify some of the issues the concepts raised. The letters sent and the questions regarding each concept can be found below:

Babergh District Council (PDF)

Forest Heath District Council (PDF) 

Government Office for the East of England (PDF)

Ipswich Borough Council (PDF) 

Mid Suffolk District Council (PDF)

St Edmundsury Borough Council (PDF)

Suffolk County Council (PDF) 

Suffolk County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Suffolk County Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF) 

Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal District Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Waveney District Council (PDF) 

Waveney District Council Labour Group (PDF)

The responses to the questions set to proponents of concepts in stage one can be found below:

Forest Heath District Council (PDF)

Ipswich Borough Council response (PDF)
Ipswich Borough Council appendix (PDF)

Ipswich Borough Council letter (PDF)

St Edmundsbury Borough Council response (PDF)
St Edmundsbury Borough Council letter (PDF)

Suffolk County and Mid Suffolk ('One Suffolk') response (PDF)
Suffolk County and Mid Suffolk ('One Suffolk') letter (PDF)
Suffolk County and Mid Suffolk ('One Suffolk') map (PDF) 

Suffolk Coastal District Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council submission (PDF)
Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council letter (PDF)

Suffolk County Council Labour Group (PDF)
Suffolk County Council Labour Group letter (PDF)

Suffolk County Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)