Draft and final recommendation reports for Suffolk Coastal, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Suffolk Coastal

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Suffolk Coastal between April 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Suffolk Coastal councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Suffolk Coastal (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Suffolk Coastal, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published 5 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Suffolk Coastal have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on in 2015.

The order for Suffolk Coastal can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3341/pdfs/uksi_20143341_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 23 October 2014 the Suffolk Coastal (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Suffolk Coastal and published on 22 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Suffolk Coastal in 2015.

The draft order can be found here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122099/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 22 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Suffolk Coastal District Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Suffolk Coastal District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 12 February 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Suffolk Coastal District Council. Between 12 February and 28 April 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 28 April 2014 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 31 submissions from local residents. They can all be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 28 submissions from parish and town councils. They can all be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Councillors

We received 9 submissions from district/county and parish councillors. They can all be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councillors (PDF)

Local Organisations

The Aldeburgh Society (PDF)

Chief Constable of Suffolk Police Force (PDF)

Suffolk Observatory (PDF)

MP's

Dr Daniel Poulter MP (PDF)

Dr Therese Coffey MP (PDF)

Local Authority

Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Suffolk Coastal Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal District Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal Conservative Association (PDF)

Suffolk Coastal Labour Group (PDF)

Woodbridge Labour Group (PDF)

 

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

The Council provided the Commission with revised electorate forecasts in December 2013.The revised forecasts can be found here- updated electoral figures (XLS).

The previous electoral figures (XLS) can be found here. This is for information only - do not use these figures.

On 23 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Suffolk Coastal District Council. Between 23 July 2013 and 1 October 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 October 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Anonymous (PDF)

T Cooper (PDF)

D Fairbrother (PDF)

D Hayhow (PDF)

E Lewis (PDF)

G Lynch (PDF)

L Politowicz (PDF)

G Watts (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 23 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

MP

Ms Coffey MP (PDF)

Ms Coffey MP no.2 (PDF)

Dr Poulter MP (PDF)

Councillors and Parish Councillors

Cllr Falconer (PDF)

Cllr Fellows (PDF)

Cllr Gower (PDF)

Cllr Harvey (PDF)

Parish Councillor Jones (PDF)

Local Authority

Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 23 April 2013 we started an electoral review of Suffolk Coastal District Council. From 23 April 2013 to 03 June 2013 invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Suffolk Coastal in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received two proposals, one from Suffolk Coastal District Council and the other from opposition councillors at the authority. These submissions are available below under 'preliminary council size consultation'. The Commission has considered these submissions and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 43 members for Suffolk Coastal District Council.

Consultation closed on 3 June 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 22 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

We also received a submission from Fairbrother T (PDF)

Local Councillors

Cllr Cooper (PDF)

PCllr Franks (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Hollesley Parish Council (PDF)

Cookley Walpole Parish Council (PDF)

Martlesham Parish Council (PDF)

Melton Parish Council (PDF)

Darsham Parish Council (PDF)

Levington & Stratton Hall Parish Council (PDF)

Bawdsey Parish Council (PDF)

Woodbridge Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Felixstowe Labour Party (PDF)

We also received one anonymous submission

Anonymous (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in July. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Suffolk Coastal District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received two submissions.

Suffolk Coastal District Council (PDF)

Submission made on behalf of opposition councillors (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 final recommendations for Suffolk Coastal: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding arrangements in the western part of Felixstowe town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding arrangements in the central and eastern part of Felixstowe town; (PDF)

Large map (2.5 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Kesgrave, Martlesham and Woodbridge. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Suffolk Coastal: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding arrangements in the western part of Felixstowe town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding arrangements in the central and eastern part of Felixstowe town; (PDF) 

Large map (2.4 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Kesgrave, Martlesham and Woodbridge. This may take some time to download; (PDF)