LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Mid Suffolk

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Mid Suffolk District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Mid Suffolk.

On 3 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Mid Suffolk District Council. Between 3 October 2017 and 11 December 2017  we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Mid Suffolk District Council

·         Summary of the Mid Suffolk report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Mid Suffolk District Council

·         An overview map of Mid Suffolk District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Mid Suffolk electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Mid Suffolk)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Mid Suffolk closed on 14 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority:

Mid Suffolk District Council

Political Groups:

Mid Suffolk District Council Liberal Democrats

Suffolk Green Party

Councillors:

Cllr Welham

Parish and Town Councils:

Barking Parish Council

Beyton Parish Council

Buxhall Parish Council

Cotton Parish Council

Eye Town Council

Felsham Parish Council

Gislingham Parish Council

Great Finborough Parish Council

Haughley Parish Council

Mendlesham Parish Council

Palgrave Parish Council

Ringshall Parish Council

Stowmarket Town Council

Stowupland Parish Council

Thurston Parish Council

Wetherden Parish Council

Weybread Parish Council

Woolpit Parish Council

Wyverstone Parish Council

Local Residents:

Shaw T

Webster J

Wright P


On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Mid Suffolk District Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Mid Suffolk District Council should have 34 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Mid Suffolk to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Mid Suffolk District Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Mid Suffolk District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Mid Suffolk District Council). We received 2 submissions on council size:

Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils

Suffolk Green Party

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stowmarket. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (1.5 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Stowmarket. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates



Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more