LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Babergh

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Babergh District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Babergh.

On 3 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Babergh District Council. Between 3 October 2017 and 11 December 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Babergh District Council

·         Summary of the Babergh report

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Babergh District Council

·         An overview map of Babergh District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Babergh electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Babergh)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements for Babergh closed on 14 August 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authorities:

Babergh District Council Submission Report

Babergh District Council Submission Map 1

Babergh District Council Submission Map 2

Political Groups:

Babergh Green Party

South Suffolk Constituency Labour Party

Councillors:

Cllr Busby

Cllr Ferguson

Cllr Hurren

Cllr McCraw

Cllr Osbourne

Parish and Town Councils:

All submissions from parish and town councils are combined in the document below, sorted alphabetically:

Parish and Town Councils

Local Residents:

Carpendale R

Cory A

Fraser M

Roberts T

Seager J

Smith N

Snow M

Street J

Taylor M

Warner J

Watkins K


On 13 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Babergh District Council. Between 13 June 2017 and 14 August 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Babergh District Council should have 31 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Babergh to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 31 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Babergh District Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Babergh District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Babergh polling district map (JPEG)

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Babergh District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Babergh District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 26 June 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 final recommendations for Babergh: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding for Hadleigh parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Great Cornard and Sudbury. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 9 January 2001

Map 1 Current ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Babergh: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding for Hadleigh parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.9 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Great Cornard and Sudbury. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates



Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
13 June 2017
14 August 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
3 October 2017
11 December 2017
Final recommendations published
6 February 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more