" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Norfolk

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Norfolk District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Norfolk.

On 14 March 2017 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Norfolk District Council. The report is available in the link below:

·         Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

·         Summary of the South Norfolk District Council report (PDF)

·         News release

·         Letter to the Chief Executive of South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

·         Overview map of the South Norfolk District Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Norfolk District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for South Norfolk District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2019.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

This consultation closed on 9 January 2017.

Below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

South Norfolk District Council

Political Groups:

South Norfolk Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Gray

Cllr Hudson

Cllr Green

Cllr Taylor

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the submissions that we received from parish and town councils are contained in the document below.

Parish and Town Councils

Local Residents:

All of the submissions that we received from local residents are contained in the document below.

Local Residents


On 8 November we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of South Norfolk District Council. Between 8 November 2016 and 9 January 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below. 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation closed on 5 September 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

M & D Beckett

J Halls

P Hubbard

C Robinson

Councillors:

Cllr Bernard

Cllr Hudson

Cllr Palmer

Cllr Savage

Cllr Neal & Overton

Cllr Wilby

Cllr Worsley

Parish and Town Councils:

Costessey Town Council

Cringleford Parish Council

Diss Town Council

Ditching Parish Council

Gedleston Parish Council

Kirby Bedon Parish Council

Marlingford & Colton Parish Council

Poringhand Parish Council

Pulham St Mary Parish Council

Starston Parish Council

Swardeston Parish Council

Local Authority:

South Norfolk Council

Local Organisations:

Broads Authority

 


 

On 28th June 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Norfolk District Council. Between 28 June and 5th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. The consultation is now closed.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that South Norfolk District Council should have 46 councillors in the future, the same amount as the current arrangements.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across South Norfolk to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 46 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Norfolk District Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arragements. 

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note: polling district mapping data will be available shortly.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Norfolk District Council on the most apporopriate council size (the number of councillors on South Norfolk District Council). We recieved one submission on council size.

South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards in South Norfolk East; (PDF)

Map 1 Existing wards in South Norfolk West; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for South Norfolk East; (PDF)

Map 2 The Committee's final recommendations for South Norfolk West; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown on Maps A2, A3, A4 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Costessey parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Diss town; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of Roydon parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.75 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Wymondham; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards in South Norfolk East; (PDF)

Map 1 Existing wards in South Norfolk West; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for South Norfolk East; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for South Norfolk West; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2, A3 and A4 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Costessey parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Diss parish; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of Roydon parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.75 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements arrangements for Wymondham. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates From
Dates To
Consultation on warding arrangements
28th June 2016
5th September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
8th November 2016
9th January 2017
Final recommendations
14th March 2017