LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more


Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Norwich City Council.


The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. To achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Norwich.

On 30 January 2018, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Norwich City Council. Between 30 January 2018 and 9 April 2018, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Norwich City Council should have 39 councillors in the future. This is no change from the current number of councillors.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Norwich to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 39 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Norwich City Council.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Norwich City Council and may contain boundary errors.

Norwich polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area, postcode or have your say. Alternatively, a non-interactive image of the current ward boundaries is also available.

You can make a submission to the Norwich City Council electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Norwich)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower



   SW1P 4QP

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Norwich City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Norwich City Council). We received 2 submissions on council size:

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (10.8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Norwich. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed draft boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (10.8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Norwich. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published in September 1995

Review Dates

Dates From: Date To:
Consultation on warding arrangements 30 January 2018
9 April 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations 5 June 2018
13 August 2018
Publication of final recommendations 2 October 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more