LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

North Norfolk

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of North Norfolk District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across North Norfolk.

The consultation on the draft recommendations closed on the 30 January 2017.

Local Authority:

North Norfolk District Council

Political Groups:

North Norfolk Labour Party

North Norfolk Liberal Democrats

Councillors:

Cllr Bradnock

Cllr Claussen-Reynolds

Cllr Foortse

Cllr Hester

Cllr Knowles

Cllr McGoun

Cllr Palmer

Cllr Rest

Local Organisations:

Fakenham Community Notice Board

Neatishead, Irstead and Barton Turf Community Heritage Group

New Victory Hall Management Committee

Parish and Town Councils:

Ashmanhaugh Parish Council

Barton Turf and Irstead Parish Council

Beeston Regis Parish Council

Binham Parish Council

Blakeney Parish Council

Brinton Parish Council

Fakenham Town Council

Fulmodeston Parish Council

Gunthorpe Parish Council

High Kelling Parish Council

Hoveton Parish Council

Letheringsett with Glandford Parish Council

Ludham Parish Council

Neatishead Parish Council

Upper Sheringham Parish Council

Wells-next-the-Sea Town Council

Wiveton Parish Council

Local Residents:

The submissions from local residents have been collated into one document. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname:

Local Residents


On 6 December we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of North Norfolk District Council. Between 6 December 2016 and 30 January 2017 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 5 September 2016.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

Andrews A

Bayliss M

Beckley G

Pink A

Shipman L

Wakefield D

Councillors:

Cllrs Claussen & Reynolds

Cllr Green

Parish and Town Councils:

Beeston Regis Parish Council

Blakeney Parish Council

Brinton Parish Council

High Kelling Parish Council

Hoveton Parish Council

Kelling Parish Council

Langham Parish Council

Sustead Parish Council

Local Authority:

North Norfolk District Council 1

North Norfolk District Council 2

North Norfolk District Council 3

Political Groups:

North Norfolk Liberal Democrats

 



On 28th June 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for North Norfolk District Council. Between 28th June 2016 and 5th September 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. The consultation is now closed.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that North Norfolk District Council should have 40 councillors in the future, which is a decrease of 8 from the previous 48.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across North Norfolk to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 40 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of North Norfolk District Council (PDF).

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the North Norfolk District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on North Norfolk District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2, A3 and A4 and the Large Map at the back of the report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Cromer parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Fakenham parish; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of Sheringham parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.2 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for North Walsham; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed draft boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in Maps A2, A3 and A4 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Cromer parish; (PDF)

Map A3 illustrates the proposed warding of Fakenham parish; (PDF)

Map A4 illustrates the proposed warding of Sheringham parish; (PDF)

Large map (1.2 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements arrangements for North Walsham. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates From:
Dates To:
Consultation on warding arrangements
28 June 2016
5 September 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
6 December 2016
30 January 2017
Final recommendations
11 April 2017