LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Norfolk Structural Review

Our advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Norfolk

The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government asked for our advice about the structure of local government in Norfolk. On 7 December 2009 we gave the Secretary of State our advice and published a report containing Advice to the Secretary of State on unitary local government in Norfolk (PDF)

We also published a summary of the report (PDF)

Next steps

More information on the review process in general, including the Secretary of State’s intended approach to taking his statutory decisions, can be found on the Department for Communities and Local Government’s website . Here is a link to a letter outlining the Secretary of State's intended approach to decisions in relation to proposals for unitary local government

Independent Financial Consultants (IFC) reports

On 15 June 2009, our independent financial consultants (IFCs) provided their final report on the affordability of our further draft proposals in Norfolk (PDF).This report became available online on 7 December 2009

Appeal

On 2 December 2009, the Court of Appeal handed down its judgment on our appeal against the High Court judgment handed down on 10 July. The Court of Appeal judged in favour of the Boundary Committee and overturned the High Court decision to quash the further draft proposals in Suffolk.

We are pleased that the Court of Appeal has recognised that the process the Committee followed in formulating its draft proposals in Suffolk was lawful and consistent with the guidance that the Secretary of State issued. Read our statement on the judgement here.

Stage Six 

On 19 March 2009, we published our further draft proposals for unitary local government in Norfolk.

Further draft proposals report (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

A synopsis of our assessment of the affordability of each further draft proposal can be found through the below links. Please note that the two synopses are based on different financial assumptions. Direct comparisons between them are therefore not appropriate.

Norfolk county unitary authority (PDF) (Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Two unitary authorities: Norwich and Rural Norfolk (PDF)(Uploaded on 27 March 2009)

Summary of the independent financial consultants' reports on the unitary county can be found here (PDF)

Summary of the independent financial consultants report on Greater Norwich and Rural Norfolk on the figures submitted by Norwich City Council in January 2009 (PDF)

Press release

Representations on our further draft proposals can be submitted to:
Review Manager
(Norfolk Review)
The Boundary Committee for England
Trevelyan House
Great Peter Street
London SW1P 2HW

Email: reviews@boundarycommittee.org.uk
Or use our online submission form to submit your views.

Representations relating to our further draft proposals will be placed on this webpage.

Please note that if you do not want all or any part of your response or name made public, please state this clearly in the response. Any such request should explain why confidentiality if necessary, but all information may be subject to publication or disclosure as required by law.

Submissions

Please find below the submissions received for our further draft proposals published 19 March 2009.

Submissions made by Norfolk local authorities

Norfolk County Council (PDF)
Joint submission by Borough Council of Kings Lynn and West Norfolk, Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, North Norfolk District Council and South Norfolk District Council (PDF)
Broadland District Council (PDF)
Great Yarmouth Borough Council (PDF)
North Norfolk District Council (PDF)
Norwich City Council (PDF) - annex A of submission by Norwich City Council (PDF)
South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

Further submission by Borough Council of Kings Lynn and West Norfolk, Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, North Norfolk District Council and South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

Norfolk County Council's response to submission by Norwich City Council (PDF)

Joint letter from Borough Council of Kings Lynn and West Norfolk, Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, North Norfolk District Council and South Norfolk District Council dated 1 September 2009 (PDF)


Submissions received after 3 June (last updated 7 December)

Submissions received after 14 May (last updated 5 June)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 8 (7 May - 14 May)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Emails - residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 1) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 2) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 3) (PDF)
Letters - residents (Part 4) (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 7 (30 April - 6 May)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 6 (23 April - 29 April)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 5 (16 April - 22 April)

Local authorities (PDF)
Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 4 (9 April - 15 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - parish and town councils (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 3 (2 April - 8 April)

Emails - parish and town councils (PDF)
Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Letters - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 2 (26 March - 1 April)

Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - local organisations (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Week 1 (19 March - 25 March)

Emails - political groups, councillors and MPs (PDF)
Emails - local organisations (PDF)
Emails - residents (PDF)
Letters - residents (PDF)
Online submissions - all (PDF)

Stages Four and Five

Reports on affordability

We asked independent financial consultants to provide the Committee with an assessment of the affordability of the unitary patterns of local government in Devon, Norfolk and Suffolk that were outlined in our reports published on 7 July 2008.

Following our request, on 21 November 2008, our independent financial consultants (IFCs) provided us with three reports. These considered the likelihood of the individual authorities identified being able to meet the affordability criterion. (These reports have been availabke on our website since 21 November 2008):

As a result of the new guidance issued in December 2008 about how we should assess the affordability of a pattern 'in aggregate' we asked the same IFCs to assess these patterns 'in aggregate'. On 20 January we considered the IFCs new reports. These were published on our website on 19 March 2009:

Following the publication of the reports published on 21 November we received new information from Norwich City Council. As a result of this information we asked Norwich City Council with the support of Norfolk County Council to complete new financial workbooks in support of the Greater Norwich and Rural Norfolk pattern.

The IFCs provided us with a report on the likelihood of this pattern (Greater Norwich and Rural Norfolk) being affordable in light of the updated information from Norwich City Council.

The financial workbooks that were created in support of these documents are found on the Norfolk structural review financial information page.

Stage Three

Submissions

A 12 week period began on 7 July 2008 during which we invited views on our draft proposal. Stage Three ended on 26 September 2008.

After receiving submissions from local authorities in Norfolk we wrote to Norwich City Council and Great Yarmouth Borough Council on 27 October 2008 and asked them some questions about what they had submitted. The letters sent can be found below.

Norwich City Council (PDF)
Great Yarmouth Borough Council (PDF)

Here are the responses we have received:

Great Yarmouth Borough Council (PDF)
Norwich City Council (PDF)

Representations received on November 2008 independent financial consultants' reports (PDF) 

Some local authorities sent responses to submissions sent to us by other authorities, these can be found below 

Norfolk County Council response to submissions from Norwich City Council and Great Yarmouth Borough Council regarding Social care - part 1 (PDF)
Norfolk County Council response to submissions from Norwich City Council and Great Yarmouth Borough Council regarding Social care - part 2 (PDF)
Norwich City Council response to the response of Norfolk County Council (above) (PDF)

Submissions received during Stage Three will be placed on our website and updated regularly.

Submissions received from local authorities

Norfolk County Council (PDF)
Norwich City Council (PDF)
Great Yarmouth Borough Council (PDF)
Financial workbooks submitted to support Great Yarmouth Borough Council's proposal (PDF) - please note these have not been evaluated by our financial consultants
Broadland District Council, Breckland Council, South Norfolk Council, North Norfolk District Council and Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk (PDF)

Submissions received 7 to 21 July 2008

Online submissions (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 22 July to 4 August 2008

Online submissions (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils, and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 5 August to 18 August 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Political groups, MPs, County and District Councillors (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 19 August to 1 September 2008

Online Submissions (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (PDF)
Emails (PDF)

Submissions received 2 September to 15 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part One) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part Two) (PDF)
Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)
Emails (Parish Councils and Town Councillors) (PDF)

Submissions received 16 September to 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Online submissions (Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part One) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part Two) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part Three) (PDF)
Local organisations (Part Four) (PDF)
Residents (Part One) (PDF)
Residents (Part Two) (PDF)
Residents (Part Three) (PDF)
Residents (Part Four) (PDF)
Residents (Part Five) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part One) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part Two) (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils and Parish and Town Councillors (Part Three) (PDF)
Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors (PDF)
Local authorities (PDF)
Emails (Local organisations) (PDF)
Emails (Parish and Town Councils) (PDF)
Emails (Political groups, MPs and County and District Councillors) (PDF)
Emails (Residents) (PDF)

Submissions received after 26 September 2008

Online submissions (Residents) (PDF)
Online submissions (Local organisations) (PDF)
Local organisations (PDF)
Residents (PDF)
Parish and Town Councils (PDF)
Norfolk Constabulary (PDF)
Online submissions received after November 2008 (PDF)

Draft proposal

On 7 July 2008 we published our draft proposals for unitary local government in Norfolk and Suffolk (PDF).

Maps of the area - A0 Maps:
Two unitary pattern A:Norfolk UA (Unitary Authority) and Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft UA (July 2008): Map 1(PDF)Map 2 (PDF)
Two unitary pattern B:Norfolk UA and Norwich UA (July 2008): Map 3 (PDF)Map 4 (PDF)
Two unitary pattern B: Norwich UA: Map 5 (PDF)
Suffolk UA and Ipswich and Felixstowe UA (July 2008): Map 6 (PDF), Map 7 (PDF)
Ipswich and Felixstowe UA: Map 8 (PDF)

A4 Maps:
Map 1 - Existing arrangements in Norfolk (PDF)
Map 2 - Existing arrangements in Suffolk (PDF)
Map 3 - Existing arrangements in Great Yarmouth and Waveney (PDF)
Map B1 - Division of Waveney under all patterns (PDF)
Map B2 - Draft proposals for Norfolk and Lowestoft - Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B3 - Two Unitary Pattern (A) for Norfolk and Lowestoft: A Norwich, Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft unitary authority and a Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B4 - Two Unitary Pattern (B) for Norfolk and Lowestoft: A Norwich unitary authority and a Norfolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B5 - Draft proposal for Suffolk (less Lowestoft); an Ipswich and Felixstowe unitary authority and a Suffolk unitary authority (PDF)
Map B6 - Single Unitary Pattern for Suffolk (less Lowestoft); a Suffolk unitary authority (PDF)

Please note that some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

A summary of the report (PDF) is also available.

Please note: If you do not want all or any part of your response or name made public, please contact us immediately to explain why confidentiality is necessary. All information in responses may be subject to publication or disclosure as required by law.

Once we have provided our advice there will then be a further period of four weeks during which representations may be made directly to the Secretary of State.

You can download our poster from Stage Three (PDF) and leaflet from Stage Three (PDF) for more information.

Stage Two

During Stage Two we considered the submissions we received during Stage One

Stage One - submissions

On 3 March 2008, we started a structural review of Norfolk. During the first stage of the review (to 11 April 2008) we worked with local authorities and other stakeholders to identify potential concepts for new unitary authorities. Below are the submissions we received at Stage One.

You can download our poster from Stage One (PDF) and leaflet from Stage One (PDF) for more information.

We will publish our draft proposals for unitary arrangements in July, at which point representations will be sought from people living in the county. 

Norfolk County Council 

Initial concepts for unitary structures (PDF)

Appendix A - Proposals for Strategic Leadership (PDF)

Appendix B - Community Governance in Norfolk (PDF)

Appendix C - Assessment of value for money (PDF)

Appendix D - Shared services (PDF)

Appendix E - Stakeholder support for unitary structures in Norfolk (PDF)

Appendix F - Analysis of strengths and weaknesses (PDF)

Appendix G - Response on Great Yarmouth and Waveney (PDF)

Letter to the Boundary Committee (PDF)

Local authorities and Councillors 

Joint submission of Breckland District Council, Great Yarmouth Borough Council, Norwich City Council and North Norfolk District Council (PDF)

Breckland District Council letter (PDF)
Breckland District Council Addendum (PDF)

Broadland District Council (PDF)

South Norfolk District Council (PDF)
South Norfolk District Council (November 2007) (PDF)

Norwich City Council Submission (PDF)
Norwich City Council Letter (PDF)
Norwich City Council response to Broadland District Council (PDF)
Norwich City Council response to NCODP (PDF)

Kings Lynn and West Norfolk Submission part one (PDF)
Kings Lynn and West Norfolk Submission part two (PDF)
Kings Lynn and West Norfolk letter (PDF)

Councillors Armes and Paines (PDF)

Councillor Beadle (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils 

Barton Bendish Parish Council (PDF)

Bixley Parish Council (PDF)
Cromer Town Council (PDF)
Guestwick Parish Meeting (PDF)
Heacham (PDF)
Hunstanton town council (PDF)
Hunstanton town council - 13 June (PDF)
Mundesley-on-Sea Parish Council (PDF)
Old Catton Parish Council (PDF)
Sprowston parish council (PDF)
Swafield and Bradfield Parish council (PDF)
Trimingham parish council (PDF)
Trunch parish council (PDF)

Parish Councillor Heaser (PDF)

Political groups and MPs 

Green Party (PDF)

Norfolk County Council Labour group letter (PDF)
Norfolk County Council Labour group submission (PDF)

Norfolk Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Great Yarmouth Borough Council, Waveney District Council, Norfolk County Council and Suffolk County Council Labour Groups joint submission (PDF)

Tony Wright MP letter (PDF)
Tony Wright MP and Bob Blizzard MP submission pages 1-2 (PDF)
Tony Wright MP and Bob Blizzard MP submission pages 3-4 (PDF)
Tony Wright MP and Bob Blizzard MP submission page 5 (PDF)

Local organisations 

'The Beach' letter (PDF)
'The Beach' submission (PDF)

Campaign to Protect Rural England Norfolk (CPRE) including letter from Suffolk Preservation Society (PDF)

Crossroads (PDF)

Howard Group (PDF)

Julian Housing Support (PDF)

NHS East of England (PDF)
Norfolk Chamber of Commerce (PDF)
Norfolk County Association of Parish & Town Councils (PDF)
Norfolk Local Government Association (PDF)
Norfolk Police Constabulary (PDF)
Norfolk Police Authority (PDF)
Norfolk Primary Care Trust (PDF)
Norfolk Coalition of Disabled People (PDF)
James Paget University Hospitals (PDF)
Great Yarmouth and Waveney Primary Care Trust Key Lines of Enquiry (PDF)
Great Yarmouth and Waveney Primary Care Trust Letter (PDF)
Unison - Norfolk Branch (PDF)

Residents 

Alston (PDF)
Barwick (PDF)
Bilverstone (PDF)
The Bishop of Norwich (PDF)
Boldero (PDF)
Campbell (PDF)
Capon (PDF)
Carruthers (PDF)
Cook (PDF)
Claxton (PDF)
Drayon resident (PDF)
Foulsham (PDF)
Laming (PDF)
Lewis O and P (PDF)
Lynn (PDF)
Missing (PDF)
Postwick resident (PDF)
Prior (PDF)
Read (PDF)
Richman (PDF)
Yarnall (PDF)

After receiving concepts from local authorities and local political organisations, we formulated questions to ask those who had submitted the concepts in order to clarify some of the issues the concepts raised. The letters sent and the questions regarding each concept can be found below.

Breckland District Council (PDF)

Great Yarmouth Borough Council (PDF)

Great Yarmouth Borough Council Labour Group (PDF)

King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council (PDF)

Norfolk County Council (PDF)

Norfolk County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Norfolk Liberal Democrats (PDF)

North Norfolk District Council (PDF)

Norwich and Norfolk Green Party (PDF)

Norwich City Council (PDF)

South Norfolk District Council (PDF)

The responses to the questions set to proponents of concepts in stage one can be found below:

Breckland District Council letter (PDF)

Breckland District Council, Great Yarmouth District Council, Norwich City Council and North Norfolk District Council response (PDF)

Great Yarmouth District Council, Waveney District Council, Norfolk County Council and Suffolk County Council Labour Groups letter (PDF)

Great Yarmouth District Council, Waveney District Council, Norfolk County Council and Suffolk County Council Labour Groups response (PDF)

King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council response (PDF)

King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council letter (PDF)

Norfolk Liberal Democrats response (PDF)

Norfolk County Council response (PDF)

Norfolk County Council response Appendix A (PDF)

Norfolk County Council response Appendix B (PDF)

Norfolk County Council response Appendix C (PDF)

Norfolk County Council response Appendix D (PDF)

Norfolk County Council letter (PDF)

Norwich and Norfolk Green Party (PDF)

Norwich City Council response (PDF)

North Norfolk letter (PDF)

North Norfolk map (PDF)

South Norfolk District Council response (PDF)