LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

King's Lynn and West Norfolk

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of the Borough of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

On 31 October 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk. Between 31 October 2017 and 15 January 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk

·         Draft recommendations map for the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk - please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the King's Lynn and West Norfolk report 

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk

Parish and Town Councils with electoral changes:

·        Downham Market Town Council

·        Hilgay Parish Council

 To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the King's Lynn and West Norfolk electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (King's Lynn and West Norfolk)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on our warding arrangements for King's Lynn and West Norfolk closed on 5 September 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received:

Local Authorities:

King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council

Councillors:

Cllr Bambridge

Cllr Manning

Cllr Morrison

Cllr Pope

Cllr Smith

Cllr Watson

PCllr Oliver

PCllr Pimlott

PCllr Starling

Parish and Town Councils:

Bircham Parish Council

Brancaster Parish Council (1)

Brancaster Parish Council (2)

Grimston Parish Council

Holme-Next-The-Sea Parish Council (1)

Holme-Next-The-Sea Parish Council (2)

Marham Parish Council

Northwold and Whittington Parish Council

Roydon Parish Council

Sandringham Parish Council

Shouldham Parish Council

Snettisham Parish Council

South Wootton Parish Council

Thornham Parish Council

Wiggenhall St Mary Magdalen Parish Council

Local Residents:

Coates R

Durham B

Hilbourne R

Hipsey T

Ludgater-Pimlott S

Payne S

Pimlott P

Venes C

Wardle A

Williams P


On 27 June 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk. Between 27 June 2017 and 4 September 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk should have 54 councillors in the future; a reduction of eight.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across King's Lynn and West Norfolk to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 54 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk and may contain boundary errors.

King's Lynn and West Norfolk (North) polling district map

King's Lynn and West Norfolk (South) polling district map

Summary map of existing ward boundaries

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors). We received 1 submission on council size:

The Borough Council of King's Lynn and West Norfolk

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the borough and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large maps at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed parish warding of Walsoken parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.6 Mb) illustrate the proposed warding arrangements for King's Lynn and the proposed borough and parish warding of Downham Market; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed draft boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2 and A3 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the current parish warding of Stow Bardolph parish; (PDF)

Large map (3.6 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for King's Lynn and the existing and proposed borough and parish warding of Downham Market. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
27 June 2017
4 September 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
31 October 2017
15 January 2018
Final recommendations published
3 April 2018

Useful Documents

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more