Draft and final recommendation reports for Breckland, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Breckland

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Breckland between March 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Breckland councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Breckland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Breckland, was made on 2 December 2014 and was published 15 December 2014. New ward arrangements for Breckland have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Breckland can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3290/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 October 2014 the Breckland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Breckland and published on 29 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Breckland in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111121740/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 29 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Breckland District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Breckland District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Breckland District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Breckland District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 21 January 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Breckland District Council. Between 21 January 2014 and 14 April 2014 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 14 April 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Rollins P (PDF)

Crowhurst J (PDF)

Bornett T (PDF)

Atkins D (PDF)

Political Groups

South West Norfolk Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Councillors and Parish Councillors

PCllr Bowyer (PDF)

PCllr Bowyer part 2 (PDF)

Cllr Smith (PDF)

Cllr Clark (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 17 submissions from parish and town councils. They can all be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of images with links to each individual submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Authority

Breckland District Council (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) useful. Here are the parish population figures and electorate figures (XLS) for Breckland (please also read the rationale (PDF) behind these figures).

On 16 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Breckland District Council. Between 16 July 2013 and 23 September 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 23 September 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 7 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 14 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Authority

Breckland District Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Breckland Labour Group (PDF)

Councillors

We received 5 submissions from councillors. All submissions are contained in one document.

Councillors (PDF)

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Breckland District Council (PDF)

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) useful. Here are the parish population figures and electorate figures (XLS) for Breckland (please also read the rationale (PDF) behind these figures).

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

On 26 March 2013 we started an electoral review of Breckland District Council. From 26 March 2013 to 7 May 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent Breckland in the future.

Consultation closed 7 May 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Residents

Burton R (PDF) 

Cockburn D (PDF)

Cracknell T (PDF)

Dorring B (PDF)

Fisher B (PDF)

Flannagan B (PDF)

Gibbards S (PDF)

Lucking R (PDF)

Malt R (PDF)

Miller S (PDF)

Osborn S (PDF)

Parnell-Hopkinson P (PDF)

Smith K (PDF)

Wright G (PDF)

Resident (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Bretternham & Kilverstone Parish Council (PDF) 

North Pickenham Parish Council (PDF)

Thetford Town Council (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Parish Cllr Peters 

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from the council which is available below - under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 50 members for Breckland.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013 and 2014.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF) contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Breckland District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the Council on council size.

Breckland District Council - council size submission (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 31 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 30 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed final boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large maps at the back of the report; (PDF)
Map A2 illustrates the proposed boundary between Burgh and Haverscroft and Queen's wards in Attleborough; (PDF)

Large map (3.8 Mb) illustrate the proposed warding arrangements for Attleborough, Dereham and Thetford; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 March 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing boundary arrangements; (PDF)

Map 2 Proposed draft boundaries; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2 and the large map; (PDF)
Map A2 illustrates the proposed boundary between Burgh and Haverscroft and Queen's wards in Attleborough; (PDF)

Large map (3.8 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Attleborough, Dereham and Thetford. This may take some time to download; (PDF)