Draft and final recommendation reports for Welwyn Hatfield, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Welwyn Hatfield

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Welwyn Hatfield between May 2015 - February 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Welwyn Hatfield councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Welwyn Hatfield, was made on 4 February 2016 and was published on 5 February 2016. New ward arrangements for Welwyn Hatfield have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Welwyn Hatfield can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/116/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 8 December 2015 the Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Welwyn Hatfield and published on 1 December 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Welwyn Hatfield in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111141632/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On the 1st of December 2015 we published final recommendations for Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (PDF)

Overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on the 19th of October 2015

Below are the submissions that we recieved

Local Residents

All of the 46 local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below.

Local Residents (PDF)

We also received the following submissions

Davis P (PDF)

Leach J (PDF)

Miller P (PDF)

Ransom S (PDF)

Sheppard E (PDF)

Councillors

Borough Councillors

Cllr Broach (PDF)

Cllr Dowler, Bromley and Thompson (PDF)

Cllr Kyriakides (PDF)

Cllr Thrope (PDF)

Cllr Watson (PDF)

Parish Councillor

Cllr Neville (PDF)

Local Organisations

Green Belt Society Welhan Green Residents Association (PDF)

Little Heath Action Group (PDF)

North Mymms District Green Belt Society (PDF)

The Essendon Society (PDF)

Political Groups

Handside Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council Labour Group (PDF)

Welwyn Hatfield Conservatives (PDF)

Welwyn Hatfield Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Essendon Parish Council (PDF)

Hatfield Town Council (PDF)

Welwyn Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (PDF)

 

On 25 August 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council. Between 25 August 2015 and 19 October 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations report for Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Welwyn Hatfield

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (xls) for the existing wards useful when considering our draft recommendations. Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 12 May 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Welwyn Hatfield Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 06 July 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority 

Consultation closed on 6th July 2015  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Dorman A (PDF)

Quinton R (PDF)

Whitehead P (PDF)

Young M (PDF)

Local organisations

Little Heath Action Group (PDF)

North Mymms District Green Belt Society (PDF)

Local organisations

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council

Councillors

Cllr Bell (PDF)

Cllr Bromley (PDF)

Cllr Roberts (PDF)

Cllr Watson (PDF)

Political Groups

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council Labour Group (PDF)

Welwyn Hatfield Liberal Democrats (PDF)

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the council should have 48 borough councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Welwyn Hatfield to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 borough councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Welwyn Hatfield Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Welwyn hatfield Borough Council). We received 3 submissions on council size.

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council

Appendix 1

Appendix 2

Appendix 3

Political groups

Liberal Democrat group

Councillors

Cllr Siewniak

The Boundary Committee for England began a further electoral review (FER) of Welwyn Hatfield on 6 September 2005. It completed this review on 26 June 2007.

On 22 November 2007 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the recommendations of the Boundary Committee for England for new electoral arrangements for Welwyn Hatfield with two modifications: 

  • The boundary between Disgwell parish ward and Oaklands & Mardley Heath parish ward shall be modified to include Nos. 1–11 Great North Road in Oakslands & Mardley Heath parish ward (rather than Digswell parish ward as stated in the final recs and mapping)
  • The boundary between Howlands district ward and Panshanger district ward shall be modified to include Langstone Ley on Black Fan Road in Panshanger district ward (rather than Howlands district ward) the new district ward boundary will now run at the back of these house.

On 25 February 2008, the electoral change Order to implement the Electoral Commission's decision was made to establish the new district and parish wards, by reference to the Order map. Web and print (PDF) versions of the Order are published by the Office of Public Sector Information. The map referred to in the Order comprises Sheet 1 (PDF), Sheet 2 (PDF), Sheet 3 (PDF) and Sheet 4 (PDF).

Our final recommendations for the future electoral arrangements of Welwyn Hatfield were published on 26 June 2007. We have now completed our statutory role in respect of this review.

Final report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 26 June 2007.

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for the district of Welwyn Hatfield including constituent parishes.

Map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in the district of Welwyn Hatfield: Wards in Welwyn Parish and Welwyn Garden City.

Map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed boundaries in the district of Welwyn Hatfield: Wards in Welwyn Garden City and Hatfield parish.

Map sheet 4 illustrates the proposed boundaries in the district of Welwyn Hatfield: Wards in Hatfield parish and the southern rural areas.

Draft report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 7 November 2006.

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Welwyn Hatfield District, including constituent parishes.

Map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Welwyn Hatfield District. Ward in Welwyn Parish.

Map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed Welwyn Hatfield District. Wards in Welwyn Garden City.

Map sheet 4 illustrates the proposed Welwyn Hatfield District. Wards in Hatfield Parish.

The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), starting on the 10 December 1996.

Final report, published on 3 February 1998

Draft reportpublished in August 1997