Draft and final recommendation reports for Watford, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Watford

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Watford between May 2015 - February 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Watford councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

 

Recommendations become law

The Watford (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Watford, was made on 4 February 2016 and was published 5 February 2016. New ward arrangements for Watford have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Watford can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/112/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 8 December 2015 the Watford (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Watford and published on 1 December 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Watford in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111141649/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 1 December 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Watford Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Watford Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Managing Director of Watford Borough Council (PDF)

•    Overview map of the Watford Borough Council final recommendations (PDF) 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Watford Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

Consultation closed on 19 October 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Aron J (PDF)

Bozorgi K (PDF)

Corzberg M (PDF)

Driver L (PDF)

Hall R (PDF)

Isaacs G (PDF)

McGuigan J (PDF)

Munns T (PDF)

OS P (PDF)

Reid S (PDF)

Shah J (PDF)

Smith K (PDF)

Trajcevski Y (PDF)

Watkin M (PDF)

Councillors

County Councillor Giles-Medhurst (PDF)

Councillor Hastrick (PDF)

Councillor Watkin (PDF)

Political Groups 

Nascot Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Watford Labour Party (PDF)

Watford Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Authority

Watford Borough Council

On 25 August 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Watford Borough Council. Between 25 August 2015 and 19 October 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations report for Watford Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on the draft recommendations for Watford

•    Letter sent to the Managing Director of Watford Borough Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Watford Borough Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures for the current wards useful when considering our draft recommendations. The forecasts can be found here (XLS). 15 June 2015: Watford Borough Council requested the use of a revised set of existing electorate figures taking into account the latest canvas of electors. The Council argued that these figures were more accurate than those originally published as they take into account the impact of Individual Elector Registration. The Commission has considered the Council's request and concurs that these figures are the most accurate available. These figures supersede those previously published.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 6 July 2015

On 12 May 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Watford Borough Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 6 July 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Aron J (PDF)

Atkin R (PDF)

Dent R (PDF)

O'Shea P (PDF)

Ray (PDF)

Wield C (PDF)

Wield P (PDF)

Political Groups

Watford Labour Group (PDF)

Watford Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Watford Conservative Group (PDF)

Local Authority

Watford Borough Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Cassiobury Residents Association (PDF)

The Courtlands Residential Assocation (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Giles-Medhurst (PDF)

Cllr Martins (PDF)

 

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the borough council should have 36 borough councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Watford to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 36 borough councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Managing Director of Watford Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 15 June 2015: Watford Borough Council requested the use of a revised set of existing electorate figures taking into account the latest canvas of electors. The Council argued that these figures were more accurate than those originally published as they take into account the impact of Individual Elector Registration. The Commission has considered the Council's request and concurs that these figures are the most accurate available. These figures supersede those previously published.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Watford Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Watford Borough Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), starting on the 10 December 1996.

Final report, published on 3 February 1998.

Draft report, published in July 1997.