Draft and final recommendation reports for Three Rivers, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Three Rivers

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Three Rivers between July 2012 - February 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Three Rivers councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Three Rivers (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Three Rivers, was made on 5 February 2014 and was published 11 February 2014. New ward arrangements for Three Rivers have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2014.

The order for Three Rivers can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/243/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 3 December 2013 the Three Rivers (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Three Rivers and published on 22 October 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Three Rivers in 2014.

To view the draft order please visit

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111106549/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Three Rivers

On 22 October 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Three Rivers District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Three Rivers District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2014.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 16 April 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Three Rivers District Council. Between 16 April 2013 and 8 July 2013 we invited comments on the proposed wards, their boundaries and ward names.

Consultation closed on 8 July 2013.

Below are the submissions received:

Local Residents

We received 264 submissions from local residents.The submissions are contained in the 7 documents below. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents - surnames A-C (PDF)

Local residents - surnames D-G (PDF)

Local residents - surnames H-K (PDF)

Local residents - surnames L-M (PDF)

Local residents - surnames N-R (PDF)

Local residents - surnames S-U (PDF)

Local residents - surnames V-Y (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Croxley Green Parish Council (PDF)

Sarratt Parish Council (PDF)

Watford Rural Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Bakshi (PDF)

Cllr Bedford (PDF)

Cllr Button (PDF)

Cllr Medhurst (PDF)

Cllr Gordon (PDF)

Cllr Hames (PDF)

Cllr King (PDF)

Cllr Scarth (PDF)

Cllr Stibbs (PDF)

Cllr Williams (PDF)

Local organisations

Batchwood Heath Residents Association (PDF)

Carpenders Park Residents Association (PDF)

Chorleywood Residents Association (PDF)

Croxley Green Residents Association (PDF)

Oxhey Hall Residents Association (PDF)

Oxhey Hall Residents Association (PDF)

Rickmansworth Chamber of Commerce (PDF)

Rickmansworth District Residents Association (PDF)

Political groups

Three Rivers Conservative Group (PDF)

Three Rivers Labour Group (PDF)

Local Authority

Three Rivers District Council (PDF)

Late submissions

We received 24 late submissions. The submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Late submissions (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations report for Three Rivers District Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

Overview map of the proposed ward boundaries (PDF) - Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

News release on draft recommendations for Three Rivers

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Three Rivers District Council (PDF)

When considering warding arrangements for Three Rivers, you may find the electoral figures (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation area. You can view the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.
Following preliminary discussions with Three Rivers District Council, on 23 October 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 23 October 2012 and 14 January 2013, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Three Rivers, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries. 

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from political groups, parish councils, local organisations and local residents. The submissions are available below; under council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 39 for Three Rivers. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Three Rivers District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode, and 'Have your say'.

Consultation closed on 14 January 2013

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Authority

Three Rivers District Council (PDF)

Political groups

Three Rivers District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Three Rivers District Council Labour Group (PDF)

Three Rivers District Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Barton (PDF)

Cllr Bishop (PDF)

Cllr Sansom (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Abbots Langley PC (PDF)

Croxley Green PC (PDF)

Sarratt PC (PDF)

Watford Rural PC (PDF)

Local organisations

Carpenders Park Residents Association (PDF)

Oxhey Hall Residents Association (PDF)

Rickmansworth and District Residents Association (PDF)

Rickmansworth Chamber of Commerce (PDF)

Rickmansworth Police Station (PDF)

Petitions

We received 10 pages of signatures from residents in Carpenders Park opposing proposals to split Carpenders Park by merging part with South Oxhey and the rest with Oxhey Hall.

Carpenders Park Petition (PDF)

Local residents

We received 36 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in a single document. At the front of the document there are a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Local residents (PDF)

When considering warding arrangements for Three Rivers, you may find the electoral figures (PDF) and a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful. 
On 24 July 2012 we started an electoral review of Three Rivers District Council. From 24 July 2012 to 3 September 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Three Rivers. 

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received three submissions from the Liberal Democrat, Labour and Conservative Groups at the Council. These submissions are available below under preliminary council size consultation.

The Commission considered these submissions and sought views on its proposals for a council size of 39 members for Three Rivers District Council.

A letter to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general. 

Consultation closed on 3 September 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors 

Cllr Giles-Medhurst (PDF)

Cllr Mead (PDF)

Cllr Wakeling (PDF)

South West Hertfordshire Conservative Association (PDF)

Parish, Town Councils

Abboys Langley Parish Council (PDF)

Chorleywood Parish Council (PDF)

Sarratt Parish Council (PDF)

Watford Rural Parish Council (PDF) 

Local Organisations

Chorleywood Baptist Church (PDF)

Eastbury Residents Association (PDF)

Oxhey Hall Residents Association (PDF)

Rickmansworth and District Residents Association (PDF)

Rickmansworth Society (PDF) 

Local Residents

We received 49 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions. 

Local Residents (PDF) 

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012 and early 2013.  

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Review: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contained detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Three Rivers District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received three submissions on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), starting on the 10 December 1996.

Final report, published on 3 February 1998

Draft report, published in August 1997