Draft and final recommendation reports for Hertfordshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Hertfordshire County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Hertfordshire between April 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Hertfordshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Hertfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Hertfordshire, was made on 5 November 2015 and was published in November 2015. New division arrangements for Hertfordshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Hertfordshire can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1873/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 15 July 2015 the Hertfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Herfordshire and published on 12 May 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Hertfordshire in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137864/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Hertfordshire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Hertfordshire County  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Hertfordshire County Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load. 

•    Hertfordshire County Council final recommendations - wards A-Z (PDF)

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The Commission has opened a new phase of public consultation in its electoral review of Hertfordshire County Council. The consultation focuses on new proposals for county division boundaries in Stevenage.

The Commission has listened to views put to it during its consultation last year and now proposes to make substantial changes to its previous recommendations for Stevenage. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission is re-opening its consultation in this part of the county only.

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of Hertfordshire and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county on 12 May 2015.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

Letter to Chief Executive of Hertfordshire County Council explaining the latest phase of consultation

Map A The Commission’s further draft recommendations for Stevenage

Map B The Commission’s draft recommendations for Stevenage (published in September 2014)

News release

This consultation is over.

Below are the submissions we received:

Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Cllr Connolly (PDF)

Henry R (PDF)

Hertfordshire County Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Lloyd J (PDF)

Miller J (PDF)

Sherry J (PDF)

Cllr Thomas (PDF)

 

On 9 September 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Hertfordshire County Council. Between 9 September 2014 and 3 November 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Hertfordshire County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Hertfordshire County Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Hertfordshire County Council (PDF)

•    Overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) 

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

The consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received.

District, Borough and County Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local authorities

Local authorities (PDF)

Local organisations

Local organisation (PDF)

Local residents

Anonymous (PDF)

Local residents (A-C) PDF

Local residents (D-I) PDF

Local residents (J-N) PDF

Local residents (O-S) PDF

Local residents (T-W) PDF

Political groups

Political groups (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Parish councillors

Cllr Bradling (PDF)

Cllr Quig (PDF) 

On 15 April 2014, we opened the first period of consultation for a new pattern of electoral divisions for Hertfordshire County Council. Between 15 April and 23 June, we invited comments on division boundaries across the whole county.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 77 county councillors in the future.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Hertfordshire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 77 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Hertfordshire County Council (PDF)

You can also view the evidence we received from the council about their future council size here

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. This spreadsheet was updated on 4 June 2014 to amend an error identified in some of the division totals in Dacorum district.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. 

This consultation is now closed. 

Below are the submission which we have received:

The submissions have been grouped into single PDF documents. Click on the corresponding links to find specific submissions.

District and Borough councils

North Hertfordshire District Council(PDF)

Stevenage Borough Council(PDF)

District and County councillors

Councillors(PDF)

Cllr Anderson (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents(PDF)

Parish and Town councils

Parish and Town councils(PDF)

Ware Town Council (PDF)

Political groups and parties

Political groups and parties(PDF)

The Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Hertfordshire County Council on 3 November 1998.

Draft report (PDF) published 9 March 1999.

Final report (PDF), published 2 November 1999.

 

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 11 January 1995

Draft report (PDF) published 6 September 1994