LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Broxbourne electoral review

Recommendations become law

The Broxbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Broxbourne, was made on 24 January 2012 and was published 27 January 2012.

New ward arrangements for Broxbourne have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 3 May 2012.

The order for Broxbourne can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/159/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 14 November 2011 the Broxbourne (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for Broxbourne click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Broxbourne and published on 18 October 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Broxbourne in 2012.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Broxbourne

On 18 October 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Broxbourne. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Broxbourne Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Stage Three

On 24 May 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Broxbourne Borough Council. Between 24 May and 1 August we invited comments on the draft recommendations for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 August 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF) 

Cllrs, MP's and Political Groups

Cllrs Clemerson (PDF) 

Cllr Pearce (PDF)

Cllr Mills Bishop 1 (PDF) and a second submission (PDF) from Cllr Mills Bishop 

Cllr Moule (PDF)

Cllr Seeby (PDF)

Broxbourne Parliamentary Conservative Association (PDF) 

Local organisations 

Goffs Oak community association (PDF) 

Local residents

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents A - C (PDF)

Local residents D - J (PDF)

Local residents K - P (PDF)

Local residents R - W (PDF) 

The recommendations can be found using the links below

Maps of the areas recommendations:

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.

Stage One

On 30 November 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Broxbourne Borough Council. Between 30 November and 21 February, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Consultation closed on 21 February 2011. 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Labour Group (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation

On 14 September 2010 started an electoral review of Broxbourne Borough Council. From 14 September 2010 to 25 October 2010 we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Broxbourne during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Read our news-release

Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Broxbourne.You may find a map of Broxbourne's wards (PDF) useful.

Consultation closed on 25 October 2010.

Below are the submissions we received: 

Local Authority 

Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Further information from Broxbourne Borough Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Labour Group (PDF)

Further information from the Labour Group (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Aitken (PDF)

Cllr Greenhill (PDF)

Local Organisations 

Four Swannes Residents Association (PDF)

Hillyard Residents Association (PDF)

Holdbrook Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents 

A Fox (PDF)

N Harvey (PDF)

R Cook (PDF)

A McCole (PDF)

A McInnes (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: