Draft and final recommendation reports for Uttlesford, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Uttlesford

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Uttlesford between July 2012 - May 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Uttlesford councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Uttlesford (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Uttlesford, was made on 20 May 2014 and was published on 27 May 2014. New ward arrangements for Uttlesford have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Uttlesford can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1334/contents/made;

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 March 2014 the Uttlesford (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Uttlesford and published on 22 October 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Uttlesford in 2015.

The draft order can be seen at the link below:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111110362/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Uttlesford

On 22 October 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Uttlesford District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note: this PDF is very large and may take some time to download

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Uttlesford District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 16 April 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Uttlesford District Council. Between 16 April 2013 and 8 July 2013 we invited comments on the proposed wards, their boundaries and ward names.

Consultation closed on 8 July 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish and Town Councils

Birchanger Parish Council (PDF)

Ugley Parish Council (PDF)

Lindsell Parish Meeting (PDF)

Manuden Parish Council (PDF)

Great Hallingbury Parish Council (PDF)

Stebbing Parish Council (PDF)

Farnham Parish Council (PDF)

Berden Parish Council no.1 (PDF)

Berden Parish Council no.2 (PDF)

Berden Parish Council no.3 (PDF)

Little Hallingbury Parish Council (PDF)

Hatfield Broad Oak Parish Council (PDF)

Saffron Walden Town Council (PDF)

Stansted Mountfitchet Parish Council (PDF)

Takeley Parish Council (PDF)

Local authority, local organisations and political groups

Uttlesford District Council (PDF)

We Are Residents (PDF)

Saffron Walden Constituency Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Saffron Walden Constituency Liberal Democrats no.2 (PDF) 

The Rt Hon Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (PDF) 

Councillors

Cllr Dean (PDF)

Cllr Loughlin (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 19 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Petition

We received 96 signatures from Bush End Ward of Hatfield Broad Oak Parish opposing the intention to move the Bush End ward from the electoral ward of Hatfield Broad Oak and the Hallingburys. An example of the petition is contained in the link.

Bush End Ward (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping click here to visit our consultation area. You can view the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Consultation on warding arrangements

Following preliminary discussions with Uttlesford District Council, on 23 October 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 23 October and 14 January 2013, we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the Council. We were especially looking for information on communities within Uttlesford, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Uttlesford District Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommended a council size of 39 for Uttlesford. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Uttlesford District Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

Consultation closed on 14 January 2013

When considering the warding arrangements for Uttlesford you may find helpful the electoral figures (PDF) useful.

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Council size consultation

On 24 July 2012 we started an electoral review of Uttlesford District Council. From 24 July to 3 September we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Uttlesford in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the Council and Liberal Democrats Group. Their submissions are available below. The Commission considered these submissions and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 39 members for Uttlesford District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Consultation closed on 3 September 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Uttlesford District Council (PDF)

Political groups

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Ashdon parish council (PDF)

Great Dunmow town council (PDF)

Great Hallingbury parish council (PDF)

Little Hallingbury parish council (PDF)

Newport parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Basford J (PDF)

Edwards N (PDF)

Francis J (PDF)

Goodwin A (PDF)

Riding P (PDF)

Westlake P (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Uttlesford District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received two submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), beginning on 30 November 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 28 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed district ward boundary between Thaxted and The Eastons wards; (PDF)

Large map (2.8 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Uttlesford. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed district ward boundary between Thaxted and The Eastons Wards; (PDF)

Large map (2.8 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Uttlesford. This may take some time to download; (PDF)