LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Tendring

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Tendring District Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Tendring District Council.

On 14 March 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Tendring District Council. Between 14 March 2017 and 8 May 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Tendring District Council

·         Summary of the Tendring report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Tendring District Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Tendring District Council

·         An overview map of Tendring District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Tendring electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Tendring)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 9 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Tendring District Council

Councillors:

Cllr Dixon

MPs:

Douglas Carswell MP

Parish and Town Councils:

Brightlingsea Town Council

Elmstead Parish Council

Harwich Town Council

Lawford Parish Council

Little Oakley Parish Council

Manningtree Parish Council

Mistley Parish Council

St Osyth Parish Council

Thorrington Parish Council

Local Residents:

Mr Baldock, M

Ms Russell, J

Mr Wilson, M

Mr Young, R


On 25th October 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Tendring District Council. Between 25th October 2016 and 9th January 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission had also announced that it is minded to recommend that Tendring District Council should have 48 councillors in the future, which is a reduction by 12 councillors.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Tendring to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 48 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Tendring District Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Tendring District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Tendring District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Tendring District Council).

We received two submissions on council size:

Tendring District Council

Tendring District Council Electorate Forecast

Tendring District Council Appendices

Cllr Turner

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and started on 30 November 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 28 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A2 proposed warding of Harwich town; (PDF)

Map A3 proposed warding of Harwich town; (PDF)

Large map (4.7 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Clacton-on-Sea and Frinton and Walton. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 20 June 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Tendring: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Harwich Town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Harwich Town; (PDF)

Large map (5.0 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Clacton-on-Sea and Frinton and Walton. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Dates from Dates to
Consultation on warding arrangements:
25th October 2016
9th January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations:
14th March 2017
8th May 2017
Final recommendations:
11th July 2017


Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more