Draft and final recommendation reports for Rochford, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rochford

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Rochford between July 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Rochford councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Rochford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Rochford, was made on 3 November 2015 and was published on 6 November 2015. New ward arrangements for Rochford have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Rochford can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1860/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13 July 2015 the Rochford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Rochford and published on 12 May 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Rochford in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137680/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 12 May 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Rochford District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Rochford District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Rochford District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Rochford District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 16 February 2015

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Arrowsmith J (PDF)

Burdett S (PDF)

Byres P (PDF)

Gardiner C (PDF)

Gaunt J (PDF)

Levey C (PDF)

Lutterloch (PDF)

Martin S (PDF)

Shorter R (PDF)

Steptoe C (PDF)

Sterry S (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Canewdon Parish Council (PDF)

Rayleigh Town Council (PDF)

Rochford Parish Council (PDF)

Sutton Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Glynn (PDF)

Cllr Hoy (PDF)

Cllr C Mason (PDF)

Cllr J Mason (PDF)

Cllr R Capon (PDF)

Cllr T Capon (PDF)

Political Groups

Rayleigh and Wickford Conservative Association (PDF)

Local Authority

Rochford District Council (PDF)

On 9 December 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Rochford District Council. Between 9 December 2014 and 16 February 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations report for Rochford District Council (PDF) 

21 January 2015 - We have made two changes to page 9 of the report, specifically in the details column for both the Trinity and Wheatley wards. The changes correctly reflect the transfer of an area between wards and also accurately references Station Crescent.

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Rochford District Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Rochford District Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

On 22 July 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rochford District Council. Between 22 July 2014 and 29 September 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 29 September 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Capon T (PDF)

Clemesha D (PDF)

Constable D (PDF)

Guyett B (PDF)

Levey C (PDF)

Martin S (PDF)

Maynard D (PDF)

Nisbett J (PDF)

Richmond G (PDF)

Thornley G (PDF)

Webster M (PDF)

Yeadell G (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Canewdon Parish Council (PDF)

Hockley Parish Council (PDF)

Rochford Parish Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Rochford and Castle Point Police (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Glynn (PDF)

Local Authority

Rochford District Council (PDF) 

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the district council should have 39 district councillors in the future, the same as at present.

Rochford District Council holds elections in three years out of every four. The Commission has a responsibility, set out in legislation, to devise a pattern of three-member wards across the whole authority. Such a ward pattern means that every elector would have the same opportunity to vote in local elections each time they are held. The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Rochford to help it to produce a new pattern of three-member wards to accommodate 39 district councillors.The Commission is able to move away from a uniform pattern of three-member wards – on a ward by ward basis - if it believes an alternative arrangement would better meet its other statutory criteria: to deliver electoral equality for voters, to reflect the interests and identities of local communities and to promote effective and convenient local government.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Rochford District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. Please note the electoral figures were provided to the Commission by Rochford District Council. Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about division arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by the local authorities and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Rochford District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Rochford District Council). We received 1 submissions on council size.

Rochford District Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and started on 30 November 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 19 March 2001

Further draft report (PDF), published on 28 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Large map (6.3 Mb) Illustrating proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 20 June 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Rochford: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed boundary between Barling, Sutton and Great Wakering West and Foulness & Great Wakering East wards; (PDF)

Large map (6.3 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for the centre of the district. This may take some time to download; (PDF)