Draft and final recommendation reports for Colchester, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Colchester

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Colchester between March 2014 - November 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Colchester councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Colchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Colchester, was made on 3 November 2015 and was published 6 November 2015. New ward arrangements for Colchester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Colchester can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1859/pdfs/uksi_20151859_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13th July 2015 the Colchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Colchester and published on 23rd March 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Colchester in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137659/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 23 March 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Colchester Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Colchester Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Colchester Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Colchester Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 21 October 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Colchester Borough Council. Between 21 October 2014  and 12 January 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Colchester Borough  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Colchester

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Colchester Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 12 January 2015

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors PDF

Local residents

Local residents PDF

Parish and town Councils

Parish and Town Councils PDF

Petitions

We have received the following petition:

St John's Lib Dems PDF

Political groups

Political groups PDF  

Local Organisations

Local organisations PDF

MP

Sir Bob Russell MP (PDF)

On 27 May 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Colchester Council. Between 27 May 2014 and 4 August 2014, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Colchester Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

 

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Cllr. Carlsson Browne E.

Cllr. Russell B.

Local organisations

Hythe Community Trust(PDF)

Local residents

Local residents combined(PDF)

Parish councils

Parish council combined(PDF)

Political groups

Political groups combined(PDF)

On 4 March 2014 we started an electoral review of Colchester Borough Council. From 4 March to 14 April we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Colchester in the future.

Consultation closed on 14 April 2014

Below are the submissions which we have recieved:

Due to the number of submissions received, some submissions have been grouped into single PDF. Specific submissions are accessible by clicking on the corresponding icon.

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents B-L (PDF)

Local residents M-W (PDF)

MPs

MP Russell (PDF)

Parish councils

Tiltree Parish council (PDF)

Messing cum Inworth Parish Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage council size. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Colchester Borough Conservative Group, Colchester Borough Labour Group, Colchester Borough Liberal Democrat Group, Highwoods Independent Group and Colchester Borough Council. Their submissions are available below; under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 51 members for Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To view the existing ward boundaries visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2014.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.


As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Colchester Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Colchester Council). We received 5 submissions on council size.

Below are the submissions we have received:

Colchester Borough Liberal Democrat group (PDF)

Colchester Borough Conservative group (PDF)

Colchester Borough Labour group (PDF)

Highwoods Independents group (PDF)

Colchester Borough Council (PDF)

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) and started on 30 November 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 28 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Colchester: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Tiptree Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Stanway Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Wivenhoe Parish; (PDF)

Large map (7.25 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Basildon. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 20 June 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Colchester: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Tiptree Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Stanway Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Wivenhoe Parish; (PDF)

Large map (7.3 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Basildon. This may take some time to download; (PDF)