Draft and final recommendation reports for Braintree, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Braintree

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Braintree between March 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Braintree councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Braintree (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Braintree, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published 5 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Braintree have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Braintree can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3335/pdfs/uksi_20143335_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 23 October 2014 the Braintree (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Braintree and published on 22 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Braintree in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122105/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 22 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Braintree District Council. The report is available in the link below.

• Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Braintree District Council (PDF)

• Summary of the report (PDF)

• News release

• Letter to the Chief Executive of Braintree District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Braintree District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 21 January 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Braintree Council. Between 21 January 2014 and 14 April 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 14 April 2014

Below you can find the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 34 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors and Parish Councillors

Cllr Barlow (PDF)

Cllr Foster (PDF)

Cllr Mitchell (PDF)

Cllr Evans (PDF)

Cllr Shute (PDF)

PCllr Barlow (PDF)

Local Organisations

Braintree and Bocking Carnival Committee (PDF)

Witham Town Luncheon Club (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Black Notley Parish Council (PDF)

Bures Hamlet Parish Council (PDF)

Castle Hedingham Parish Council (PDF)

Cressing Parish Council (PDF)

Feering Parish Council (PDF)

Finchingfield and Great Bardfield Parish Councils (PDF)

Gestingthorpe Parish Council (PDF)

Great Saling Parish Council (PDF)

Rivenhall Parish Council (PDF)

Witham Town Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Braintree District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Braintree District Council Conservative Group part 2 (PDF)

Braintree Labour Party (PDF)

Halstead and District Labour Party (PDF)

Witham and Braintree Green Party (PDF)

Witham and District Labour Party (PDF)

Witham and District Co-operative Party (PDF)

Local Authority

Braintree District Council (PDF)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Braintree Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Braintree

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Braintree District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

On 16 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Braintree District Council. Between 16 July 2013 and 23 September 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 23 September 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 35 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 20 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Baugh (PDF)

Pcllr Burrows (PDF)

Cllr Canning (PDF)

Cllr Walters (PDF)

Political Groups and MP

Braintree District Council Labour Group (PDF)

Braintree District Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Witham and Braintree Green Party (PDF) and Appendix (PDF)

Mr Newmark MP (PDF)

Halstead Residents Association (PDF)

Petition

We received 10 signatures requesting that Great Notley Parish boundaries will not be extended into neighbouring areas. An example of the petition is contained below in the link.

Petition (PDF)

Click below to read the news release, letter to the Chief Executive and electorate figures.

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Braintree District Council (PDF)

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) useful. Here are the parish population figures (XLS) and electorate figures (XLS) for Braintree (please also read the rationale (PDF) behind these figures).

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

On 26 March 2013 we started an electoral review of Braintree District Council. From 26 March 2013 to 7 May 2013 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Braintree in the future.

Consultation closed 7 May 2013 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Members of the public (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

Parish and town councils in Braintree District (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Barlow L (PDF)

Massey G (PDF)

Partridge S (PDF)

Interested Groups

Essex Police and Crime Commissioner (PDF)

Braintree and Bocking Labour Party Candidate (PDF)

Witham Co-op Party (PDF)

Braintree District Councillors

Cllr J Abbot (PDF)

Cllr P Barlow (PDF)

Cllr R Evans (PDF)

Cllr T Everard (PDF)

Cllr M Fincken (PDF)

Cllr C Gibson (PDF)

Cllr E Lynch (PDF)

Cllr D Mann (PDF)

Cllr M Thorogood (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the Council, the Labour group, Conservative group and the Green Party. Their submissions are available below; under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 50 members for Braintree District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Braintree District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received four submissions on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), starting on 30 November 1999.

Final report (PDF), published on 28 November 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Braintree: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Witham Town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Kelvedon and Coggeshall & North Feering Wards; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed ward boundary between Halstead St Andrew's and Halstead Trinity Wards; (PDF)

Large map (3.2. Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Braintree. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Illustrating draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Braintree: Key map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Witham Town; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed ward boundary between Kelvedon and Silver End & Rivenhall Wards; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed ward boundary between Kelvedon and Cressing & Coggeshall Wards; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed ward boundary between Halstead St Andrew's and Halstead Trinity Wards; (PDF)

Large map (3.2 Mb) illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Braintree, Bocking and Great Notley. This may take some time to download. (PDF)