LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Cambridgeshire

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of South Cambridgeshire District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across South Cambridgeshire.

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 January 2017 the South Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Cambridgeshire and published on 18 October 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Cambridgeshire in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153437.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 18 October 2016 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Cambridgeshire District Council. The report is available in the link below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Cambridgeshire District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for South Cambridgeshire District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on the 25 July 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All of the submissions that we received from the local residents are contained in the document below:

Local Residents (PDF)

J Boname

T Wilderspin

Councillors:

Cllr De Lacey

Cllr Lockwood

Cllr Smith

Cllr Johnson

Parish and Town Councils:

Barton Parish Council

Caxton Parish Council

Comberton Parish Council

Coton Parish Council

Croydon Parish Council

Fen Ditton Parish Council

Fen Drayton Parish Council

Grantchester Parish Council

Great Wilbraham Parish Council

Guilden Morden Parish Council

Harlton Parish Council

Harston Parish Council

Haslingfield Parish Council

Hatley Parish Council

Litlington Parish Council

Little Abdington Parish Council

Longstanton Parish Council

Longstowe Parish Council

Oakington & Westwick Parish Council

Shingay-cum Wendy Parish Council

Stapleford Parish Council

Teversham Parish Council

Toft Parish Council

Political Groups:

South Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats Group

 



On 10 May 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Cambridgeshire District Council. Between 10 May 2016 and 25 July 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for South Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for South Cambridgeshire District Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of South Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode,.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 1st February 2016. 

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents

Brocklehurst J (PDF)

Downey D (PDF)

Hilbery M (PDF)

Keith S (PDF)

Linskill J (PDF)

Mann P (PDF)

Ollerenshaw J (PDF)

Perring M (PDF)

Saggers S (PDF)

Smith T (PDF)

Swanson R (PDF)

Swanson R (PDF)

Whitebread L (PDF)

District Councillors

Cllr Cathcart (PDF)

Paris and Town Councils

All of the Parish and Town Council submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

Whittlesford Society (PDF)

Local Authority

South Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

 



On 24 November 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Cambridgeshire District Council. Between 24 November and 1 February 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that South Cambridgeshire District Council should have 45 councillors in the future, 12 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across South Cambridgeshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 45 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of South Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

Polling District Maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by South Cambridgeshire District Council and may contain boundary errors

South Cambridgeshire polling district map (jpeg)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Cambridgeshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on South Cambridgeshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 17 April 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review, and a subsequent amendment Order, can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 23 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (2 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for South Cambridgeshire; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 27 November 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Large map (2 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for South Cambridgeshire; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
24 November 2015
1 February 2016
Consultation on draft recommendations
10 May 2016
25 July 2016
Final recommendations
18 October 2016