Draft and final recommendation reports for Peterborough, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Peterborough

image map Final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Peterborough to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections. The aim of the review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors. At present, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the city and surrounding areas which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Peterborough City Council.

 

Our review aims to ensure that each Peterborough councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Peterborough (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Peterborough, was made on 3 November 2015 and was published 5 November 2015. New ward arrangements for Peterborough have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Peterborough can be viewed through the following link: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1858/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 13th July 2015 the Peterborough (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Peterborough and published on 20th January 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Peterborough in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111137673/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 20 January 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Peterborough City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for       Peterborough City  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Peterborough City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Peterborough City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation closed on 6 October 2014

On 15 July 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Peterborough City Council. Between 15 July 2014 and 06 October 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Peterborough City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Peterborough

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Peterborough City Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Below are the submissions which we have received: 

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local authority

Peterborough City Council (PDF)

Local residents

Surnames A-C (PDF)

Surnames D-H (PDF)

Surnames J-P (PDF)

Surnames Q-W (PDF)

MPs and political groups

Jackson S MP (PDF)

Vara S MP (PDF)

Liberal democrat group (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Parish and town councils (PDF)

On 14 January 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Peterborough City Council. Between 14 January 2014 and 1 April 2014, we are invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 April 2014

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Due to the amount of submissions received, we have combined some submissions into a single PDF document. To find specific submissions, please click on the corresponding icon.

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Councillor Swift (PDF)

Parish councils

Parish councils (PDF)

Local authority

Peterborough City Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Day K (PDF)

Local group

Brookfield and Dukesmead Residents' Association (PDF)

Local political group

PCC Liberal Democrat Leader (PDF)

 

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Peterborough City Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 24 September 2013 we started an electoral review of Peterborough City Council. From 24 September to 11 November we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Peterborough in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ˜council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Peterborough City Council and Thorney Parish Council. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 60 members for Peterborough City Council.

Consultation closed on 11 November 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 21 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions

Local residents (PDF)

We also received a submission from Bray J (PDF). The link mentioned in his submission can be found here http://parkfarmneighbourhoodwatch.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/the-return-of-naughty-step-2013-award.html

Councillors

Cllr D Over (PDF)

Cllr McKean (PDF)

Cllr Peach (PDF)

Cllr Rush (PDF)

Cllr Stokes (PDF)

Cllr Swift (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

CAPALC (PDF)

Eye Parish Council (PDF)

Thorney Parish Council (PDF)

Wothorpe Parish Council (PDF)

Political groups

Vicky Ford MEP (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council and two councillors. Their submissions are available below.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Come back in January 2014 for the next consultation on ward boundaries. Register through the portal to receive a consultation reminder

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2014.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in Peterborough. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

We had a meeting with Peterborough City to discuss their submission. You can view the minutes from that meeting here.

Minutes of meeting with Peterborough City Council (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Peterborough City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Peterborough City Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

Peterborough City Council (PDF)

Thorney Parish Council (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 10 July 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE). The Order to implement The Electoral Commission's decision on the review, and a subsequent amendment Order, are both available on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website.

The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 9 July 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's final recommendations; (PDF)

Large map (9.6 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 26 February 2002 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's draft recommendations; (PDF)

Large map (9.6 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

A directed electoral review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 11 April 1996

Final report (PDF) published on 6 December 1996

Draft report (PDF) published on 3 September 1996

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 26 September 1995

Useful Documents