" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Huntingdonshire

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Huntingdonshire District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Huntingdonshire.

 

 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 February 2017 the Huntingdonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2017 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Huntingdonshire, which were published on 8 November 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Huntingdonshire in 2018.

The draft order can be viewed here: 

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2017/9780111153710

On 8 November 2016 we published our final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Huntingdonshire District Council. The report is available below:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Huntingdonshire District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for Huntingdonshire District Council to be implemented at the local elections in 2018.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

View Source

The consultation on the draft recommendations for Huntingdonshire closed on 22 August 2016.

Below are all of the submissions we received:

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the document below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local Residents

Councillors:

Cllr Chapman

Cllr Giles

Cllr Harty

Cllr Jones

Cllr Sanderson 1

Cllr Sanderson 2

Cllr Swain

Parish and Town Councils:

Great Staughton Parish Council

Hemmingford Abbotts Parish Council

Hemmingford Grey Parish Council

Holme Parish Council

Houghton & Wyton Parish Council

Little Paxton Parish Council

Offord Cluny & Offord Darcy Parish Council 1

Offord Cluny & Offord Darcy Parish Council 2

Stilton Parish Council

St Ives Town Council

Warboys Parish Council

Local Authority:

Huntingdonshire District Council



 

On 28 June 2016 we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Huntingdonshire District Council. Between 28 June 2016 and 22 August 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. The consultation is now closed.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Below are the submissions we recieved during the consultation warding arranegements.

Local Residents

Carey-Townsend R (PDF)

Gough M (PDF)

Hayward T (PDF)

Midgley G (PDF)

Overend D (PDF)

Simpson L (PDF)

White A (PDF)

Parish Councils

Buckden Parish Council (PDF)

Earith Parish Council (PDF)

Great Gransden Parish Council (PDF)

Great Paxton Parish Council (PDF)

Holywell-cum-Needingworth Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authourities

Huntingdonshire District Council (PDF)

 

On 26th January 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Huntingdonshire District Council. Between 26th January and 4th April 2016, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that Huntingdonshire District Council should have 52 councillors in the future, the same as the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Huntingdonshire to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 52 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Huntingdonshire District Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

 

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Huntingdonshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Huntingdonshire District Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

Huntingdonshire District Council (PDF)

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 17 April 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 23 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3 and A4 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed district ward and parish ward boundary between St Neots Eaton Ford and St Neots Eaton Socon; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed district ward and parish ward boundary between St Neot Eynesbury and St Neots Priory Park; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrates the proposed district ward boundary between St Neots Eynesbury and Gransden & The Offords ward, and the existing parish warding arrangements for the parish of Eynesbury Hardwicke; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the towns of Huntingdon and St Ives, and the parish warding arrangements for the parish of Houghton & Wyton; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 27 November 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas that are shown in more detail on Maps A2, A3 and A4 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed district ward and parish ward boundary between St Neots Eaton Ford and St Neots Eaton Socon; (PDF)

Map A3 Illustrates the proposed district ward and parish ward boundary between St Neot Eynesbury and St Neots Priory Park; (PDF)

Map A4 Illustrates the proposed district ward boundary between St Neots Eynesbury and Gransden & The Offords ward, and the existing parish warding arrangements for the parish of Eynesbury Hardwicke; (PDF)

Large map (3.9 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for the towns of Huntingdon and St Ives, and the parish warding arrangements for the parish of Houghton & Wyton; (PDF)

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in December 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 26 September 1995

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
26 January 2016
4 April 2016
Consultation on draft recmmendations
28 June 2016
22 August 2016
Final Recommendation
8 November 2016