Draft and final recommendation reports for Fenland, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Fenland

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Fenland between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Fenland councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.


 

Recommendations become law

The Fenland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Fenland, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published on 14 January 2014.

New ward arrangements for Fenland have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Fenland can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/27/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 4 November 2013 the Fenland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Fenland and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Fenland in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105276/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Fenland. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available.

6 August 2013 - the Fenland final recommendations Sheet 1, Map 1 was subject to minor amendments to correct typographical errors. In Chatteris Town Council, Cuff parish ward was renamed Curf and Manea parish ward renamed How Fen.

We have now completed our electoral review of Fenland District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 23 October 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Fenland District Council. Between 23 October 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013.

Local authority

Fenland District Council (PDF) 

Councillors

Cllr Cornwell (PDF)

Cllr Hoy (PDF)

Members representing the North of Wisbech town - Cllr V Bucknor, Cllr M Bucknor, Cllr Cox and Cllr Patrick. (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Chatteris town council (PDF)

March town council (PDF)

Whittlesea town council (PDF)

Local residents

Fleming J (PDF)

Paterson F (PDF)

Draft recommendations documents:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

On 14 March the Commission launched a period of information gathering with Fenland District Council. From 14 March 2012 to 26 July 2012 we invited Fenland District Council and members of the council to provide information to develop a new pattern of ward arrangements for Fenland.

Below is the submission we received from the Council:

The Commission will be starting an electoral review of Fenland in 2012. As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Fenland District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Fenland District Council). We received a single submission on council size.

You may find a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful. Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Fenland District Council and a map of the existing wards and parishes in Fenland. 

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 17 April 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 23 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Chatteris parish; (PDF)

Large map (4.2 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Fenland; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 27 November 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed warding of Chatteris parish; (PDF)

Large map (4.2 Mb) Illustrating the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Fenland; (PDF)