Draft and final recommendation reports for East Cambridgeshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Cambridgeshire

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of East Cambridgeshire between June 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each East Cambridgeshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The East Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in East Cambridgeshire, was made on 15 December 2016.

New ward arrangements for East Cambridgeshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for East Cambridgeshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/1230

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 25 October 2016 the East Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in East Cambridgeshire and published on 6 September 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for East Cambridgeshire in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/ukdsi/2016/9780111150658

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 6th September 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in East Cambridgeshire District Council. The report is available in the link below.

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Lancashire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation clsoed on the 11th January 2016

Below are all of the submissions we recieved

Local Residents:

All of the submissions that we recieved from the Parish and Town Councils are contained in the document below

Local Residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Burwell PC (PDF)

Sutton PC (PDF)

Brinkley PC (PDF)

Witchford PC (PDF)

Little Downham PC (PDF)

Haddenham PC (PDF)

City of Ely Council (PDF)

Witcham PC (PDF)

Local Authority:

East Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

 



On 17th November 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of East Cambridgeshire District Council. Between 17th November 2015 and 11th January 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for East Cambridgeshire District  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for East Cambridgshire District Council

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of East Cambridgshire District Council (PDF)

•    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the draft recommendations.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 31st of August 2015.

Below are the Submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

Cresswell P (PDF)

Darby M  (PDF)

Larmour J (PDF)

Monteith S (PDF)

Stuart M (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

Bottisham Parish Council (PDF)

Brinkley Parish Council (PDF)

Burwell Parish Council (PDF)

City of Ely Town Council (PDF)

Dullingham Parish Council (PDF)

Haddenham Parish Council (PDF)

Little Downham Parish Council (PDF)

Little Downham Parish Council (PDF)

Littleport Parish Council (PDF)

Mepal Parish Council (PDF)

Sutton Parish Council (1) (PDF)

Sutton Parish Council (2) (PDF)

Wentworth Parish Council (PDF)

Witcham Parish Council (PDF)

Witchford Parish Council (PDF)

District Councils:

East Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

Political Groups:

North East Cambridgeshire Conservative Association (PDF)

MP:

Mr Stephen Barclay MP (PDF)

 



On 23 June 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for East Cambridgeshire District Council. Between 23 June and 31 August 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that East Cambridgeshire District council should have 27 councillors in the future, 12 fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across East Cambridgeshire District Council to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 27 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of East Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Cambridgeshire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on East Cambridgeshire District Council). We received 1 submissions on council size.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 17 April 2001 but, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 23 April 2002 by the BCFE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's final recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates in outline form the proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed boundary for Woodditton ward; (PDF)

Large map (2.3 Mb) Illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Ely, Littleport and Soham; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), Published on 27 November 2001 by the LGCE

Map 1 Existing wards; (PDF)

Map 2 Committee's draft recommendations; (PDF)

Map A1 Illustrates in outline form the proposed ward boundaries; (PDF)

Map A2 Illustrates the proposed boundary for Woodditton ward; (PDF)

Large map (2.3 Mb) Illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Ely, Littleport and Soham; (PDF)