LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Cambridgeshire County Council

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map View our new draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Cambridgeshire County Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend electoral division boundaries that mean each county councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of divisions reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw division boundaries across the county.

Below are all of the submissions we recieved during the consultation on new draft recommendations

Local Residents:

All submissions from local residents are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of the names with links to the relavant submission.

Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)

Surname A - C (PDF)

Surname D - H (PDF)

Surname I - N (PDF)

Surname O - S (PDF)

Surname T - Z (PDF)

Councillors:

All submissions from councillors are combined in the documents below. At the front of the document is a list of the names with links to the relavant submission.

Councillor (PDF)

MP:

Lucy Frazer MP (PDF)

PTC

All submissions from local Parish and Town councils are combined in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of the names with links to the relavant submission.

Parish and Town Council  (PDF)

Political Groups:

Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrat Party (PDF)

Cambridgeshire Labour Group (PDF)

Littleport & Sutton North East Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

North East Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Petersfield ward Labour Group (PDF)

South East Cambridgeshire Conservative Group (PDF)

Local Authority:

CIty of Ely (PDF)

East Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Eastons Community Association (PDF)

Huntingdonshire Volunteer Centre (PDF)

Petersfield Area Community Trust (PDF)

Residents Association of Old Newham (PDF)

Trumpington Residents Association (PDF)

Petition:

A petition of 247 signatures against part of the Eatons being included in St Neots Priory Park and Little Paxton division (PDF)

 

On 10 May 2016 we published our new draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Cambridgeshire County Council. Between 10 May 2016 and 20 June 2016 we invited comments on our new draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    New Draft recommendations for Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for Cambridgeshire County Council

*    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

 

To interact with the new draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 9 February 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Cambridgeshire County Council. The report is available in the link below.


* Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)


* Summary of the report (PDF)


* News release


* Letter to the Chief Executive of Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)


* Overview map of the Cambridgeshire County Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Cambridgeshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Consultation Closed on the 30th of November 2015.

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

All of the local resident submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

Local Residents surname A-L (PDF)

Local Residents surname M-Z (PDF)

Councillors:

Cllr Bailey (PDF)

Cllr Hunt (PDF)

Cllr Boden (PDF)

Cllr O'Reilly (PDF)

Cllr Smart (PDF)

Cllr Hipkin and Cllr Holland (PDF)

Cllr Manning (PDF)

Cllr Meftah (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Bentley Rd and Newton Rd Residents Association (PDF)

South Acre Latham and Chaucer Rd Residents Association (PDF)

South Petersfield Residents Association (PDF)

Trumpington Residents Association (PDF)

Windsor Rd Residents Association (PDF)

Political Groups:

Cambridge Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)

Cambridge Labour Group (PDF)

Newham Labour Party (PDF)

Newham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Local Authority:

Cambridge County Council (PDF)

The Commission opened a new phase of public consultation in its electoral review of Cambridgeshire County Council. The consultation focuses on new proposals for county division boundaries in Cambridge city. Between 3 November and 30 November 2015 we invited comments on our further draft recommendations.

The Commission has listened to views put to it during its consultation last year and now proposes to make substantial changes to its previous recommendations for Cambridge city. Due to the significance of the proposed changes, the Commission is re-opening its consultation in this part of the county only.

The Commission is satisfied that it has received sufficient evidence to finalise its proposals for new electoral divisions for the rest of Cambridgeshire and plans to publish its final recommendations for the whole county on in February 2016.

You can read more about the further draft recommendations, and view relevant mapping, in the documents below:

Letter to the Chief Executive of Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF) explaining the latest phase of consultation

Map A (PDF): The Commission’s draft recommendations for Cambridge city

Map B (PDF): The Commission's further draft recommendations for Cambridge city

You can also read our news release for further information.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 6th July 2015. 

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Local Residents:

All of the local resident submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

Local Residents A-I (PDF)

Local Residents J-Z (PDF)

Anonymous:Anonymous 1 (PDF)

Anonymous 2 (PDF)

County Councillors:

All of the County Councillors submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

County Councillors (PDF)

District Councillors:

All of the District Councillors submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.

District Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councillors:

Cllr Chitty (PDF)

Cllr Dorling (PDF)

Cllr Saunderson (PDF)

Cllr Windle (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils:

All of the Parish and Town councils submissions we recieved are contained in the documents below.Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Christ's Pieces Residents Association (PDF)

South Petersfield Residents Association (PDF)

Trumpington Residents Association (PDF)

Whittlesey Conservative Association (PDF)

Windsor Road Residents Assocaiation (PDF)
District and Borough Councils:

Cambridgeshire City Council (PDF)

East Cambridgeshire District Council (PDF)

Fenland District Council (PDF)

Huntingdonshire District Council (PDF)

Local Authority:

Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

Political Groups:

Cambridgeshire City Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Cambridgeshire Green Party Group (PDF)

Cambridgeshire County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Cambridgeshire County Council Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Cambridgeshire North East Conservative Association (PDF)

Cambridgeshire South East Conservative Association (PDF)

MP:

Steve Barclay MP (PDF)On 12 May 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Cambridgeshire County Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 06 July 2015 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    Draft recommendations for Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for Cambridgeshire County Council

*    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

 You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, by searching the area or postcode.Anoverview map

of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 28 October 2014, we opened the first period of consultation for a new pattern of electoral divisions for Cambridgeshire County Council. Between 28 October and 19 January, we are inviting comments on division boundaries across the whole county.

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 63 county councillors in the future, six fewer than the current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Cambridgeshire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 63 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Cambridgeshire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements. These figures have been provided by the local authorities in Cambridgeshire. The methodology behind the electoral figures can be found here (PDF)

To view the existing division arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Cambridgeshire electoral review, through consultation.lgbce.org.uk, sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Councillors PDF

Local authority

Cambridge City Council PDF

South Cambridgeshire District Council PDF

Local residents

Local residents PDF

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and Town Councils PDF

Swavesey Parish Council PDF

Fen Ditton Parish Council (PDF)

Political groups

Political groups PDF

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Cambridgeshire County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Cambridgeshire County Council). We received 4 submissions on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Cambridgeshire County Council on 11 March 2003.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1 and Sheet 2. The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission's website explains how The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final recommendations  published on 14 September 2004.

Sheet 1 illustrates in outline from the proposed divisions for Cambridgeshire including constituent district wards and parishes.

Draft recommendations   published on 24 February 2004.

Sheet 1 illustrates proposed boundaries in Cambridgeshire.

 A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 26 October 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 13 June 1994

Review Dates


Date from: Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements 28 October 2014 19 January 2015
Consultation on draft recommendations 12 May 2015 6 July 2015
Consultation on further draft recommendations 3 November 2015 30 November 2015
Final recommendations 9 February
Consultation on new draft recommendations
10 May 2016
20 June 2016
Final recommendations
6 September 2016

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more