The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Rutland County Council. The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Rutland County Council." />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Rutland

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Rutland County Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Rutland.

On 5 December 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Rutland County Council. Between 5 December 2017 and 19 February 2018 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations report for Rutland County Council

·        Draft recommendations map for Rutland County Council - please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

·         Summary of the Rutland County Council report 

·         News release

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Rutland County Council

Parish and Town Councils with electoral changes: 

-      Oakham

 

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping, visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Rutland electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Rutland)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

 

The consultation on the warding arrangements for Rutland County Council closed on 2 October 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation: 

Local Authority:

Rutland County Council

Parish and Town Councils:

Barrowden Parish Council

Ketton Parish Council

Langham Parish Council (1)

Langham Parish Council (2)

Local Residents:

Bohling V

Cade M

Mawby J

Razzell I

Reynolds K

Rogerson P


On 25 July 2017, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Rutland County Council. Between 25 July 2017 and 2 October 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission also announced that it was minded to recommend that Rutland County Council should have 26 councillors in the future.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Rutland to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 26 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Rutland County Council.

You may have found the electoral figures useful when thinking about warding arrangements

You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Rutland County Council and may contain boundary errors.

Rutland County Council polling district map

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Rutland County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors). We received 1 submission on council size:

Rutland County Council

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE) on 16 October 2001, following the transfer of the LGCE's functions to The Electoral Commission, the review was completed by The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE)..

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report, published on 15 October 2002;

Map 1 Existing wards in Rutland;

Map 2 Final recommendations for Rutland;

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large map;

Large map illustrating the proposed warding arrangements for Oakham town.

Draft report, published on 14 May 2002;

Map 1 Existing electoral arrangements;

Map 2 Proposed electoral arrangements;

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail in the large map;

Large Map illustrating the proposed warding arrangements .

Review Dates


Date from:
Date to:
Consultation on warding arrangements
25 July 2017
2 October 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations
5 December 2017
19 February 2018
Final recommendations published
8 May 2018

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more