Draft and final recommendation reports for Newark & Sherwood, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Newark & Sherwood

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Newark & Sherwood between February 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Newark & Sherwood councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Newark and Sherwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Newark and Sherwood, was made on 15 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014. New ward arrangements for Newark and Sherwood have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Newark and Sherwood can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1907/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 June 2014 the Newark and Sherwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Newark and Sherwood and published on 25 March 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Newark and Sherwood in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here - http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111115398/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 March 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Newark and Sherwood District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Newark and Sherwood Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 15 October 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Newark and Sherwood District Council. Between 15 October 2013 and 6 January 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 6 January 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 43 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 27 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Carlton-on-Trent Parish Council (PDF)

Wellow Parish Council (PDF)

District Councillors

We received 12 submissions from district Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

District Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councillors

Parish Councillor Cope (PDF)

Parish Councillor Francis (PDF)

Political Groups

Central Villages Labour Party (PDF)

Newark Conservative Association (PDF)

Newark Conservative Association no.2 (PDF)

Newark Conservative Association: Southwell Branch (PDF)

Sherwood Conservative Association (PDF)

Southwell Conservatives (PDF)

MP

Mr Mercer OBE MP (PDF)

Mr Spencer MP (PDF)

Local organisations

Easthorpe Common Lands Foundation (PDF)

Rainworth Skatepark Association (PDF)

Muskham Rural Community Centre (PDF)

Local Authority

Newark and Sherwood District Council (PDF)

Petition

We received 186 signatures regarding Rainworth. An example can be seen below.

Rainworth petition (JPEG)

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about draft recommendations. The council have supported these updated projections with this methodology (PDF). The previous electoral figures (XLS) from the council can be found here.

On 28 May 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Newark & Sherwood District Council. Between 28 May 2013 and 5 August 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 13 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 18 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and town councils (PDF)

We also received a submission from Halam Parish Council (PDF).

Local Authority

Newark and Sherwood District Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Soar (PDF)

Cllr Rose (PDF)

Political Groups

Newark Labour Group (PDF)

Southwell Liberal Democrats (PDF) 

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of Newark & Sherwood Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. The Council have supported these updated projections with this methodology. The previous electoral figures (XLS) from the council can be found here.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 26 February 2013 we started an electoral review of Newark & Sherwood District Council. From 26 February 2013 to 8 April 2013 we are inviting proposals on the number of councillors who should represent Newark & Sherwood in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council which are available below under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 38 members for Newark & Sherwood.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size and view an interactive map of the existing wards visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Al-Izzi M (PDF)

Bennett G (PDF)

Fletcher N (PDF)

Knapton C (PDF)

Paine H (PDF)

Schofield (PDF)

Parish Councils

Collingham Parish Council (PDF)

Harby Parish Council (PDF)

North Muskham Parish Council (PDF)

Rolleston Parish Council (PDF)

South Muskham/Little Carlton Parish Council (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF) contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Newark & Sherwood District Council on the most appropriate council size. We received a single submission from the council. 

The Boundary Committee for England began a further electoral review (FER) of Newark and Sherwood on 17 May 2005. It completed this review on 11 July 2006.

During the six week consultation period following the publication of the Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations for Newark and Sherwood the Electoral Commission received the following representation:

On 23 November 2006 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the recommendations of the Boundary Committee for England without modifications.

On 25 January 2007 the Commission made the District of Newark and Sherwood (Electoral Changes) Order 2007 to implement their decision. Web and print versions of the Order are available at the Office of Public Sector Information's website, as are web and print versions of a subsequent amendment Order.

The Order describes most of the new district wards in its Schedule and refers to a map, which was re-issued by the amendment Order, comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3 and Sheet 4, of the other new district wards and the new parish wards. Mapping of the new district wards was available on Ordnance Survey's election maps website just before the elections in May 2007 that brought the new wards into force.

Final report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 11 July 2006.

Large map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Newark & Sherwood district, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Newark town.

Large map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Southwell town.

Draft report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 6 December 2005.

Large map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Newark & Sherwood district, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Newark town.

Large map sheet 3 illustrates the proposed boundaries in Southwell town.


The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000.

Map 1 Existing wards in Newark and Sherwood; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Newark and Sherwood; (PDF)

Map A1 Draft recommendations for Newark and Sherwood: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Balderton Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Blidworth Parish; (PDF)

Map A4 Proposed warding of Clipstone Parish; (PDF)

Map A5 Proposed warding of Rainworth Parish; (PDF)

Map A6 Proposed warding of Southwell Town; (PDF)

Map A7 Proposed warding of Southwell Town; (PDF)

Large Map (2.7 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Newark-on-Trent. This may take some time to download. (PDF)

Draft report, (PDF) published on 14 December 1999.