LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Mansfield

Recommendations become law

The Mansfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Mansfield, was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011). New ward arrangements for Mansfield have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Mansfield can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/163/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the Mansfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Mansfield and published on 21 September 2010. 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Mansfield in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Mansfield

On 21 September 2010 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Mansfield.These are available through the links below.

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Mansfield District Council.The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2011.

Stage Three - Draft recommendations

On 26 March 2010 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for Mansfield District Council.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

Consultation closed on 11 June 2010

Below are the submissions we received: 

Mansfield District Council (PDF) 

Warsop Parish Council (PDF) 

Cllr Jelly (PDF)

Members of the public

A Tristram (PDF)

T Barton (PDF)

Stage One - consultation on ward boundaries

On 20 October 2009, we began our consultation on ward boundaries in Mansfield. In the previous stage, we consulted on the number of councillors Mansfield should have and decided it should have 36 councillors. The below links contain more information.

Press release
Letter sent to the Managing Director of Mansfield District Council (PDF)

You may find the electorate figures (XLS) provided by the council to be useful.

Consultation closed on 11 January 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Mansfield District Council (PDF)
Overview map (PDF)
Mansfield East area map (PDF)
Mansfield North & Woodhouse area map (PDF)
Mansfield South area map (PDF)
Warsop area map (PDF)
Mansfield West area map (PDF)

Please note: some of the maps are very large and may take some time to download

Members of the public

P Cullen (PDF)
A McLean (PDF)
G Musgrove (PDF)

Preliminary council size consultation

On 4 August 2009 we started an electoral review of Mansfield. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Mansfield during two further periods of consultation later in 2009.

Below are the submissions we received:

Mansfield District Council (PDF)

Mayor Egginton (PDF)

Members of the public

R Chapman (PDF)
E Colley Buddies (PDF)

Letter sent to Chief Executive of the Council at the beginning of the review (PDF)
Letter sent to Parish and local Councils at the beginning of the review (PDF)

We produce electoral review guidance to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area. This is available on the About electoral reviews page.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).