Draft and final recommendation reports for Gedling, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Gedling

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Gedling between March 2012 - January 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Gedling (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Gedling, was made on 8 January 2014 and was published 14 January 2014. New ward arrangements for Gedling have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2015.

The order for Gedling can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/19/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 6 November 2013 the Gedling (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Gedling and published on 25 March 2013.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Gedling in 2015.

To view the draft order please visit

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111105214/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 25 March 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Gedling. These are available through the links below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the mapping click on the map below to visit our consultation area. Here you can view the existing boundaries, draft recommendations and final recommendations. 


We have now completed our electoral review of Gedling Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 13 November 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Gedling Borough Council. Between 13 November 2012 and 7 January 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 7 January 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Gedling Borough Council (PDF) along with supporting maps (PDF)

Parish councils

Burton Joyce parish council (PDF)

Local residents

Ireland D (PDF)

Truscott J (PDF)

Below are the consultation documents:

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Following preliminary discussions with Gedling Borough Council, on 19 June 2012 we started a period of information gathering for new ward arrangements. Between 19 June and 28 August, we invitied local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority. We were especially looking for information on communities within Gedling, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new ward boundaries.

During the preliminary consultation the Commission received submissions from Gedling Council, political groups and local residents. These submissions are available below; under council size consultation. The Commission has considered these proposals and is minded to recommend a council size of 40 for Gedling. Proposals for warding arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

Consultation closed on 28 August 2012.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Gedling Borough Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general.

When considering the warding arrangements for Gedling you may find the electoral figures (XLS) and a map of the electoral variences (PDF) useful.

Below are the submissions we received:

Borough Council

Gedling Borough Council proposal (PDF) and accompanying Map (PDF)

Political group

Green Party (PDF)

Parish council

Burton Joyce Parish Council (PDF)

Local residents

Harlow J (PDF)

Ireland T (PDF)

Kirkland W (PDF)

Murphy V (PDF)

Weatherbed S (PDF) 

You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 27 March 2012 we started an electoral review of Gedling Borough Council. From 27 March to 8 May we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Gedling Council. The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage council size.

During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Gedling Borough Council. The submission is available below under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission considered this submission and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 40 members for Gedling Council.

Consultation closed on 8 May 2012.

Below are the submissions we received on council size:

Local authority

Gedling Borough Council (PDF)

Political groups

A joint submission from W J Clark -the Leader of the Council and Labour Group and C P Barnfather - the Leader of the Conservative Group (PDF)

Local residents

Burdett G (PDF)

Dawson R (PDF)

Greenwood D (PDF)

Martinez R (PDF)

Morris A (PDF)

Waters L (PDF) 

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Gedling Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received one submission on council size:

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000.

Map 1 Existing wards in Gedling; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Gedling; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Gedling: Key Map; (PDF)

Map A2 Proposed warding of Bestwood St Albans Parish; (PDF)

Map A3 Proposed warding of Calverton Parish; (PDF)

Large Map  (9.5 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Arnold and Carlton. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report , (PDF) published on 14 December 1999.

A structural review of Broxtowe, Gedling and Rushcliffe was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (PDF) published in May 1995

Draft report (PDF) published on 26 September 1995