Draft and final recommendation reports for Ashfield, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Ashfield

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Ashfield between April 2013 - February 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Ashfield councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Ashfield, was made on 2 February 2015 and was published 5 February 2015. New ward arrangements for Ashfield have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in May 2015.

The order for Ashfield can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/112/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 December 2014 the Ashfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Ashfield and published on 18 November 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Ashfield in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed below:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111124086/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111124086_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 18 November 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Ashfield District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Ashfield District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Ashfield District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Ashfield District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

The Commission begins further limited consultation in Ashfield. This period of further limited consultation commenced 1 July 2014, and closed on 26 August 2014.

Consultation closed on 26 August 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 23 submissions from local residents. All submissions can be found in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

We have also received a submission from Ben Bradley which contains 36 letters from other residents in Hucknall.

Bradley B (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Aspinall (PDF)

Cllr Baron (PDF)

Cllr Butler (PDF)

Cllr Madden (PDF)

Cllr Shooter (PDF)

Cllr Wilmott (PDF)

Local authority

Ashfield District Council

Local organisations

Neighbourhood Watch (PDF)

Safer Neighbourhood Committee (PDF)

MP and MEP

We received a submission from Mr Mark Spencer MP. As part of his submission he conducted a survey of local residents in Hucknall. We have blocked the personal details of the respondents of the survey however, you can still see their opinion and the number of surveyors.

Mark Spencer MP (PDF)

Emma McClarkin and Andrew Lewer MBE MEP (PDF)

Political Groups

Sherwood Conservative Association (PDF)

During the period of Consultation the Commission welcomed comments on its further proposals for the following areas:

  • Kirkby in Ashfield
  • Sutton in Ashfield
  • Hucknall

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Ashfield District Council (PDF), our public news release and our summary (PDF) provides more information on the review.

Map A: shows our further draft recommendations in the Hucknall area.
Map B: shows our further draft recommendations in the Kirkby in Ashfield area.
Map C: shows our further draft recommendations in the Sutton in Ashfield area.

To interact with the further draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2014

On 14 January 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Ashfield District Council. Between 14 January 2014 and 8 April 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received over 100 submissions from local residents. All local resident submissions are contained in 5 documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents - surnames A-C (PDF)

Local residents - surnames D-H (PDF)

Local residents - surnames I-P (PDF)

Local residents - surnames Q-S (PDF)

Local residents - surnames T-Z (PDF)

Councillors

We received 17 submissions from Councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Councilllors (PDF)

Local organisations

We received 13 submissions from local organisations. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local organisations (PDF)

Political Groups

Ashfield Labour Group (PDF)

Kirby Central Branch of Ashfield Labour Constituency Party (PDF)

Sutton Central Ward Labour Party (PDF)

Sutton West Labour Party (PDF)

MPs

Gloria de Piero MP (PDF)

Mark Spencer MP (PDF)

Parish Councils

Selston Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Ashfield District Council (PDF)

Petitions

We received 138 signatures regarding Hucknall "Why the Boundary Commission is Wrong". 136 signatures agreed with the petition and 2 signatures disagreed with the petition. An example of the petition can be found below.

Petition example (PDF)

We received 52 signatures regarding Hucknall "Why the Alternative Proposal Works". 46 signatures agreed with the petition and 6 signatures disagreed with the petition. An example of the petition can be found below.

Petition example (PDF)

We received 576 signatures and 343 electronic responses regarding Hucknall "Keep Hucknall Hucknall". An example of the petition can be found below.

Petition example (PDF)

 

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.


Draft recommendations for Ashfield District Council (PDF)


Summary of the report (PDF)


News release on draft recommendations for Ashfield


Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Ashfield District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when considering our draft recommendations.

Note: 29 October 2013

During our initial consideration of the representations received during the consultation on warding arrangements the Commission considered that the Council's original electorate forecasts were inaccurate, showing declining electorate in large number of polling districts. Following dialogue with the Council the Commission produced a revised set of forecast figures (under the original 2019 projection was 95,183 electors, whereas under the revised figure this is now 97,123). The figures below supersede those originally provided.

Electoral Figures (XLS)

On 23 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Ashfield District Council. Between 23 July 2013 and 1 October 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 1 October 2013.

Below are the submissions that we received:

Local Residents

We received 11 submissions from local residents. All the submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Buttery (PDF)

Cllr Hollis (PDF)

Cllr Madden (PDF)

Cllr Smith (PDF)

Cllr Zadrozny (PDF) Councillor Zadrozny resubmitted the figures for his proposals based on the revised figures discussed at the top of this page. To see his amended figures please read Cllr Zadrozny (XLS)

Local organisations

All Saints Centre (PDF)

All Saints Church (PDF)

Friends of Kingsway Park (PDF)

Huthwaite Community Action Group (PDF)

SAT Community Association (PDF)

Safer Neighbourhood Commitee (PDF)

Political Groups and MP 

Sherwood Conservative Assocation (PDF)

Mr Spencer MP (PDF)

Local Authority

Ashfield District Council (PDF)

The Council resubmitted the figures for its proposals based on the revised figures discussed at the top of this page. To see their figures please read Ashfield District Council (XLS)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Ashfield District Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.


On 23 April 2013 we started an electoral review of Ashfield District Council. From 23 April 2013 to 3 June 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent Ashfield in the future.

Consultation closed 3 June 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 12 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Buttery (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage council size. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Ashfield District Council. Their submission is available below under preliminary council size.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in July. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Ashfield District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF), published on 16 May 2000.

Map 1 Existing wards in Ashfield; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for Ashfield; (PDF)

Map A1 Final recommendations for Ashfield: Key Map; (PDF)

Large Map  (8.8 Mb) illustrating the proposed ward boundaries for Ashfield. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report, published on 14 December 1999.