Draft and final recommendation reports for Wellingborough, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Wellingborough

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Wellingborough between January 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Wellingborough councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

 

Recommendations become law

The Wellingborough (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Wellingborough, was made on 15 July 2014 and was published 22 July 2014. New ward arrangements for Wellingborough have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Wellingborough can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1909/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 5 June 2014 the Wellingborough (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Wellingborough and published on 25 February 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Wellingborough in 2015.

The draft order can be found here - http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111115374/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 25 February 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in the Borough Council of Wellingborough. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode. 

We have now completed our electoral review of the Borough Council of Wellingborough. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 20 August 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the Borough Council of Wellingborough. Between 20 August 2013 and 11 November 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 11 November 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received 13 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document.At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Earls Barton Parish Council (PDF)

Irchester Parish Council (PDF)

Mears Ashby Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Carr (PDF)

Cllr Elliott (PDF)

Local Organisations

Hatton Park Residents Association (PDF)

Hatton Park Residents Association no.2 (PDF)

Local Authority

Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for the Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Wellingborough

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download. To interact with our draft recommendations click on our overview map of the recommendations:


You may find the amended electoral figures for Wellingborough (XLS) useful when thinking about the ward boundaries.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 26 March 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for the Borough Council of Wellingborough. Between 26 March 2013 and 4 June 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

You may find the amended electoral figures for Wellingborough (XLS) useful when thinking about the ward boundaries.

Consultation closed 4 June 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Partridge D (PDF)

Dixon J (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Timms (PDF)

Parish Councils

Earls Barton Parish Council (PDF)

Mears Ashby Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

On 8 January 2013 we started an electoral review of the Borough Council of Wellingborough. From 8 January 2013 to 18 February 2013 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Wellingborough.

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in future, we call this stage 'council size'. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from Wellingborough Council. The submission is available below; under preliminary council size. 

The Commission has considered the submission and has sought view on its proposals for a council size of 36 members for the Borough Council of Wellingborough.

A letter to the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will consider the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process, and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

To 'have your say' on council size, visit our consultation portal.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013

Below are the submissions we have received: 

Local Authority

Borough Council of Wellingborough (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Finedon Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Miles A (PDF)

Dixon J (PDF)

Brack M (PDF)

Dodd R (PDF)

Parrett S (PDF) 

Preliminary council size consultation 

We had a meeting with Wellingborough Council to discuss their submission. You can view the minutes from that meeting here.

Minutes of meeting with Wellingborough Council (PDF)

As part of the preliminary process we consulted the Borough Council of Wellingborough on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a single submission on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, (PDF) published on 25 March 1997.

Draft report, (PDF) published in October 1996.