Draft and final recommendation reports for Northamptonshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Northamptonshire

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Northamptonshire between October 2011 - January 2013. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Northamptonshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Northamptonshire, was made on 16 January 2013.

New electoral division arrangements for Northamptonshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections on 3 May 2013.

The order for Northamptonshire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/68/contents/made 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2012 The Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Northamptonshire and published on 16 October 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Northamptonshire in 2013.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111531037/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111531037_en.pdf

 The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 16 October 2012, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Northamptonshire. These are available through the links below. 

 Map of the area recommendations: 

To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode and 'Have your say'.

We have now completed our electoral review of Northamptonshire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2013.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

On 19 June 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Northamptonshire County Council.

Consultation closed 13 August 2012

A copy of the Draft recommendations for Northamptonshire and summary of the report can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Northamptonshire County Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general

Below of the submissions we received:

Local Authority

East Northamptonshire Council (PDF)

Kettering Borough Council (PDF)

Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

South Northamptonshire Council (PDF)

Wellingborough Borough Council (PDF) 

MPs and Political Groups

Chris Heaton-Harris MP (PDF)

Daventry Conservatives (PDF)

Kettering Labour Party (PDF)

Northamptonshire Liberal Democrat County Council Group (PDF)

Northampton Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Wellingborough Conservative Association (PDF)

West Hunsbury & Upton Liberal Democrat FOCUS Team (PDF)

Councillors

We received 17 submissions from local councillors. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Councillors (PDF) 
 
Parish, Town Councils

We received 21 submissions from parish and town councils. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish, Town Councils (PDF)

Blisworth Parish Council (PDF)

Local Organisations

Brambleside Community Association (PDF)

Kingsthorpe North Meadows Charitable Trust (PDF)  

Far Cotton Residents Association (PDF)

Local Residents

We received 45 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local Residents (PDF)

On 24 January 2012 the Commission launched a period of information gathering for Northamptonshire County Council.  Between 24 January 2012 and 2 April 2012 we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information to develop an new pattern of division arrangements for Northamptonshire. We are especially looking for information on communities within Northamptonshire, how people relate to and interact with them and how this may relate to any new division boundaries.

Consultation closed on 2 April 2012

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

Kettering Borough Council (PDF)

MPs, Political Groups and Councillors

Labour Group (PDF), and an initial letter from the Labour Group (PDF)

Liberal Democrat Group (PDF)

Cllr Mason (PDF)

Cllr Capstick (PDF)

Cllr Gowen (PDF)

Cllr Marriott (PDF)

Cllr Rawlinson (PDF)

Cllr Strachen (PDF)

Cllr Wire (PDF)  

Parish and town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Thirteen submissions from parish and town councils (PDF)

Local Organisations

Double H Resident's Association (PDF)

Hazel Leys Neighbourhood Association (PDF) 

Local Residents

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents submissions (PDF) 

Subsequent to preliminary discussions with Northamptonshire Council, and a public consultation, the Commission was minded to recommend a council size of 57 councillors.  Proposals for division arrangements should therefore be based on this council size.

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electorate figures (XLS), a map of parishes (PDF) and a map showing the district wards (PDF) in Northamptonshire useful.

The proposed allocation of county councillors for each district in Northamptonshire under a council size of 57 would be as follows:

  • Corby: 5
  • Daventry: 7
  • East Northamptonshire: 7
  • Kettering: 8
  • Northampton: 17
  • South Northamptonshire: 7
  • Wellingborough: 6

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 5 December 2011

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

South Northamptonshire Council (PDF)

Councillors and Political groups

Cllr Winston (PDF)

South Northamptonshire Conservative Association (PDF)

Daventry Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Northamptonshire Labour Group (PDF)

Local organisations

Double H Resident's Association (PDF)

Kings Heath Resident's Association (PDF)

Parish and town councils

All parish and town councils (PDF)

We received 12 submissions from parish and town councils. All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

Local residents

Brookfield A (PDF)

Chappell P (PDF)

Marrable S (PDF)

Mills A (PDF)

On 25 October 2011, the Commission started an electoral review of Northamptonshire County Council. From 25 October to 5 December we consulted on the size of the council, namely the number of county councillors representing Northamptonshire County Council.

Following discussions with Northamptonshire County Council, the Commission consulted on a reduction in the number of county councillors who serve Northamptonshire. The Commission asked local people and groups whether they think the County Council should be served by 57 county councillors: a reduction of 16 from the current arrangements.  

The proposed allocation of county councillors for each district in Northamptonshire under a council size of 57 would be as follows:

  • Corby: 5
  • Daventry: 7
  • East Northamptonshire: 7
  • Kettering: 8
  • Northampton: 17
  • South Northamptonshire: 7
  • Wellingborough: 6

Read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

Click here to read the submission from Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

N.B. This submission was not supported by the Labour Group on the County Council

We only considered comments on council size at this time, but we will be considering detailed electoral arrangements for Northamptonshire during a further period of consultation in 2012.

You may find the electorate figures (XLS) for Northamptonshire useful

You may wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report , published on 2 November 1999.

Draft report , published on 11 May 1999.

 


A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 13 December 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 13 July 1994