Draft and final recommendation reports for Northampton Borough Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Northampton

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Northampton Borough Council between October 2009 - February 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Northampton councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Northampton (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Northampton, was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011. New ward arrangements for Northampton have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for Northampton can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/164/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the Northampton (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Northampton and published on 12 October 2010. 

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Northampton in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 12 October 2010 we published our final recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Northampton Borough Council. These can be found using the links below

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

On 25 May 2010 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Northampton Borough Council. These can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

On 25 May 2010 we began a consultation on our draft recommendations in Northampton. Between 25 May 2010 and 19 July 2010 we invited comments on the ward boundaries in the authority.

Consultation ended 19 July 2010.

Below are the representations we received: 

Local authority

Northampton Borough Council (PDF)

Northampton Borough Independent Group (PDF)

Councillors and Political groups

Councillor Glynane (PDF)

Councillor Strachen (PDF)

Councillor Wright (PDF)

Parish councils

Wootton & Hunsbury parish council (PDF)

Collingtree parish council (PDF)

Local organisations

Collingtree Park Golf Course (PDF)

Spring Boroughs Resident Association (PDF)

St James Residents Association (PDF)

Thrift Street & Vernon Terrace Residents Association (PDF)

Buckingham Fields Community Action Group (PDF)

Local residents 

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions.

Residents (PDF)

On 27 October 2009, we started the further electoral review (FER) of Northampton Borough Council.  Between 27 October and 18 January, we invited comments on the appropriate council size (number of members elected to the district council) and ward boundaries for the authority. 

The consultation closed on 18 January 2010.

The representations we received are available to view below: 

Local Authorities

Northampton Borough Council (PDF)

Northamptonshire County Council (PDF)

Political groups and Councillors

Independent Group Northampton Borough Council (PDF)

Cllr Strachan (PDF) 

Cllr Strachan 2 (PDF)

Members of the Public

R Webb (PDF)

D Huffindine-Smith (PDF)

D Brede (PDF)

The links below contain information about this review.

Press release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Northampton Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electorate figures for Northampton (PDF) and maps of parished areas (PDF) and polling districts (PDF) useful.  Please also read our advice on 'How to propose a pattern of wards' (PDF).

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report , (PDF) published on 25 March 1997.

Draft report , (PDF) published in October 1996.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report
(PDF) published in December 1995
Draft report
(PDF) published in September 1995