LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Daventry electoral review

Recommendations become law

The Daventry (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Daventry, was made on 24 January 2012 and was published 27 January 2012.

New ward arrangements for Daventry have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 2 May 2013.

The order for Daventry can be viewed through the following link: www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/160/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 November 2011 the Daventry (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view a copy of the draft order for Daventry click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Daventry and published on 27 September 2011.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Daventry in 2012. 

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final Recommendations on future electoral arrangements in Daventry

On 27 September 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Daventry. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of Daventry District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2012.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Stage Three

Draft recommendations

On 29 March 2011 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Daventry District Council. Between 29 March and 20 June we invited comments on the ward boundaries in the authority.

Consultation ended on 20 June 2011.

Below are the representations we received:

Local Authority

Daventry District Council submission (PDF) and letter to Max Caller (PDF)

Councillors and Political Groups

Cllr B Lomax (PDF)

Cllr C Lomax (PDF)

Cllr Ogden (PDF)

Cllr Shephard (PDF) 

Daventry Constituency Conservative Association (PDF)

Daventry Constituency Labour Party (PDF) 

Parish and Town Councils

Braunston Parish Council (PDF)

Brixworth Parish Council (PDF)

Clipston Parish Council (PDF)

Creaton Parish Council (PDF)

Crick Parish Council (PDF)

Daventry Town Council (PDF)

Everdon Parish Council (PDF)

Hannington Parish Council (PDF) 

Lilbourne Parish Council (PDF)

Moulton Parish Council (PDF)

Scaldwell Parish Council (PDF)

Spratton Parish Council (PDF)

Walgrave Parish Council (PDF)

West Haddon Parish Council (PDF)

Yelvertoft Parish Council (PDF) 

Local Residents

Anonymous (PDF)

Mr and Mrs Beck (PDF)

O Davies (PDF)

D Harding (PDF)

R Hutchinson (PDF)

A Mawer (PDF)

C Myers (PDF)

A Powell (PDF)

C Silver (PDF)

B Simpson (PDF)

T Ward (PDF)

H Wilson (PDF)

M Wilson (PDF)

W Wilson (PDF) 

We also received the following submissions after June 20.

Daventry District Council letter to LGBCE (PDF), submission (PDF), map of preferred scheme (PDF), map of considered option (PDF), councillors submissions (PDF),ward size comparisons (PDF), and council size clarification (PDF).

Chris Heaton-Harris MP (PDF)

Cllr B Lomax (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

Stage One

On 28 September 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Daventry District Council. Between 28 September and 20 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Read our news release

Letter to the Managing Director of Daventry District Council (PDF)

You may find the maps of the parished areas (PDF) and wards (PDF) in Daventry useful. Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for Daventry. We are currently seeking further evidence from the authority to support its 2016 electorate forecast. Therefore, the forecast may be subject to change.

Consultation closed on 20 December 2010. 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Daventry District Council (PDF)

Councillors and Political Groups

Cllr Griffin (PDF)

Cllr Lomax (PDF)

Daventry Constituency Party Labour Group (PDF)

Parish and town councils

We received 21 submissions from parish and town councils in Daventry. 17 of these submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

All Parish and town councils (PDF)

In addition, we have received submissions from the following parish councils

Braunston Parish Council Submission (PDF) and a survey carried out by the Parish Council (PDF)

Flore Parish Council (PDF)

Welton Parish Council (PDF)

West Haddon Parish Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Borough Hill Residents Association (PDF)

Local residents

Mr M Jenkins (PDF)

Preliminary council size consultation

On 20 July 2010 we started the further electoral review (FER) of Daventry District Council. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

Consultation closed 30 August 2010

We only considered comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for Daventry during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Daventry District Council (PDF)

Councillors and political groups

Cllr Lomax (PDF)

Daventry Constituency Labour Party (PDF)

Parish councils

Byfield Parish Council (PDF)

Flore Parish Council (PDF)

Staverton Parish Council (PDF)

Weedon Bec Parish Council (PDF)

Welton Parish Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Borough Hill Residents Association (PDF)

Local residents

D Collins (PDF)

J Harris (PDF)

N Kent (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: