Draft and final recommendation reports for Corby Borough Council, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Corby

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Corby between March 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Corby councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Corby, was made on 2nd December 2014 and was published 15 December 2014. New ward arrangements for Corby have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Corby can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3287/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 October 2014 the Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Corby and published on 29 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Corby in 2015.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the borough (PDF)

On 29 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Corby Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Corby Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Corby Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Corby Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 21 January 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Corby Council. Between 21 January 2014 and 14 April 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 14 April 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Addison J (PDF)

Ludrovska D (PDF)

Withe P (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Heggs (PDF)

Cllr Lilley (PDF)

Cllr McKellar (PDF)

Political Groups

Corby Labour Group (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Cottingham Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Corby Borough Council (PDF)

 

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Corby Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Corby

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Corby Borough Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 16 July 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Corby Borough Council. Between 16 July 2013 and 23 September 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 23 September 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

Corby Borough Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Lilley R&S (PDF) 

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of Corby Borough Council (PDF)

On 16 July 2013, we further wrote to the Chief Executive of Corby Borough Council requesting clarification on the electorate figures for Weldon. We invite comments regarding the figures for this area. 

Letter to the Chief Executive of Corby Borough Council concerning electorate forecasts for Weldon (PDF)

You may find the map of parished areas (PDF) useful. Here are the parish population figures and electorate figures (XLS) for Corby.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode.

On 26 March 2013 we started an electoral review of Corby Borough Council. From 26 March 2013 to 7 May 2013 we are invitied proposals on the number of councillors who should represent Corby in the future.

Consultation closed 7 May 2013

Below are the submissions we Received:

Local Residents

Collins B (PDF)

Francis B O (PDF)

Keane M (PDF)

Parker F (PDF)

Payne C (PDF)

Poulter R (PDF)

Tew P (PDF)

Broad T (PDF)

Local Authority

Corby Borough Council (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received a proposal from the council which is available below - under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission has considered this submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 29 members for Corby.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF) contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Corby Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the Council on council size.

The Boundary Committee for England began a Further Electoral Review (FER) of Corby on 3 August 2004.

On 27 April 2006 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the recommendations of the Boundary Committee for England without modification.

On 25 May 2006 the Commission made the Borough of Corby (Electoral Changes) Order 2006 to implement their decision. Web and print versions of the Order are available at the Office of Public Sector Information's website. The Order refers to a map, comprising Sheet 1 and Sheet 2, of the new wards. Mapping of the new wards will also be available on Ordnance Survey's election maps website just before the elections in May 2007 that will bring the new wards into force.

For more information on how the Commission implement their decisions on electoral reviews conducted by the Committee please see the Implementation Team section of the Commission's website.

Final report, (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published on 5 December 2005.

Large map sheet 1, (PDF) illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Corby Borough Council, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2, (PDF) illustrates the proposed boundaries in Corby town.

Large map sheet 3, (PDF) illustrates part of the proposed Rural West ward, and part of the proposed Weldon & Gretton ward.

Draft report, (PDF) published on 17 May 2005.

Large map sheet 1, (PDF) illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Corby Borough Council, including constituent parishes.

Large map sheet 2, (PDF) illustrates the proposed boundaries in Corby town.

Large map sheet 3, (PDF) illustrates part of the proposed Rural West ward, and part of the proposed Weldon & Gretton ward.


The last Periodic Electoral Review (PER) of Corby was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, (PDF) published on 25 March 1997

Draft report (PDF) published in October 1996.

Useful Documents