LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

West Lindsey electoral review

Recommendations become law

The West Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2012, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in West Lindsey, was made on 3 January 2012. New ward arrangements for West Lindsey have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 7 May 2015.

The order for West Lindsey can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2012/1/pdfs/uksi_20120001_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 2 November 2011 the West Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2012 was laid in draft in Parliament.

To view the draft order for West Lindsey click here (PDF)

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in West Lindsey and published on 27 September 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for West Lindsey in 2015.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final recommendations on future electoral arrangements in West Lindsey

On 27 September 2011 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in West Lindsey. These are available through the links below:

You can see the maps of the proposed recommended boundaries below:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.

We have now completed our electoral review of West Lindsey District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by Parliament. A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force our recommendations – will be laid in Parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion survey 

We would like to invite you to participate in our online opinion survey. This survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Stage Three

On 29 March 2011 we published our draft recommendations for electoral arrangements for West Lindsey District Council. Between 29 March and 20 June, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 20 June 2011.  

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Authority

West Lindsey District Council (PDF) and a further submission (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Caine (PDF)

Cllr Curtis (PDF) 

Cllr Darcel (PDF) and a further submission (PDF) 

Cllrs Kinch and Milne (PDF) 

Cllr Rawlins (PDF)

Cllrs Sellars and Leaning (PDF)

Cllr Strange (PDF)

Cllr Welburn (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Caistor Town Council (PDF) 

Cherry Willingham Parish Council (PDF) 

Heapham Parish Council (PDF)

Langworth Group Parish Council (PDF)

Nettleham Parish Council (PDF) 

Sudbrooke Parish Council (PDF) 

Welton Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Mr B Beeby (PDF) and a further submission (PDF) 

Mrs S Beeby (PDF)

Mr O Bierley (PDF) 

Ms M Jackson (PDF)

Mr D Mason (PDF)

Mr R Merrall (PDF)

Group Capt Rodgers (PDF) 

Mr P Sanderson (PDF)

Mrs E Selka (PDF)

Mr and Mrs Scutcher (PDF)

Mr S Taylor (PDF) 

Mr D Thorpe (PDF)

Mr and Mrs P Turner (PDF) 

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below:

Maps of the areas recommendations:  

Please note some of these maps are large and may take some time to download.  

Stage One

On 28 September 2010, we started the second period of consultation for a pattern of wards for West Lindsey District Council. Between 28 September and 20 December, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

These recommendations can be found using the links below: 

Read our news release

Letter to the Chief Executive of West Lindsey District Council (PDF)

You may find a map of the polling districts (PDF) useful. Here are the electoral figures (XLS) for West Lindsey. We are currently seeking further evidence from the authority to support its 2016 electorate forecast. Therefore, the forecast may be subject to change.

In support of their electorate forecasts, West Lindsey District Council has provided us with a document which details where a proposedhousing development is to be situated in the Gainsborough area, as part of a local development plan. Maps showing the proposed development areas can be seen on pages 55, 56 and 60 of the document. Click here to view the Gainsborough (West Lindsey) Growth Point (PDF)

Consultation closed on 20 December 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

West Lindsey District Council (PDF)

Councillors and Political Groups

Cllr Bierley (PDF)

Cllr Caine (PDF)

Cllr J Summers - Conservative Group (PDF)

Cllr Strange (PDF) 

Parish and town councils  

Burton-by-Lincoln Parish Council (PDF)

Caistor Town Council (PDF)

Fiskerton Parish Council (PDF)

Ingham Parish Council (PDF)

Keelby Parish Council (PDF)

Reepham Parish Council (PDF)

Sudbrooke Parish Council (PDF)

Swallow Parish Council (PDF)

Residents

Mrs L Carr (PDF) 

Mr P Rodgers (PDF)

Mr R Schofield (PDF) 

Mr J Watson (PDF) 


Preliminary council size consultation

On 20 July 2010 we started the electoral review for West Lindsey District Council. During the six week preliminary stage of the review, we invited proposals for the council size of the council.

We are only considering comments on council size at this time, and we will consider detailed electoral arrangements for West Lindsey during two further periods of consultation later in 2010.

Below are the submissions we received:

Political groups

West Lindsey District Conservative Group (PDF)

Parish and town councils

Greetwell, Langworth Group and Sudbrooke Parish Councils (PDF)

Hemswell Parish Council (PDF)

Saxilby with Ingleby Parish Council (PDF)

Sturton-by-Stow Parish Council (PDF)

Willingham Parish Council (PDF)

Local Residents

M Lake (PDF)

J White (PDF)

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: