Draft and final recommendation reports for South Kesteven, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Kesteven

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of South Kesteven between February 2013 - November 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each South Kesteven councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Kesteven, was made on 5 November 2014 and was published on 19 November 2014. New ward arrangements for South Kesteven have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in May 2015.

The order for South Kesteven can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3058/pdfs/uksi_20143058_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 22 July 2014 the South Kesteven (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Kesteven and published on 25 March 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Kesteven in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111118191/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 March 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in South Kesteven District Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for South Kesteven District Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of South Kesteven District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping please visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of South Kesteven District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 15 October 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Kesteven District Council. Between 15 October 2013 and 6 January 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

The consultation has ended on the 6 January 2014.

Below are the submissions we received:

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

Local Authority

South Kesteven District Council (PDF)

Local Residents

Local Residents (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Political Party

Labour Party (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

On 28 May 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for South Kesteven District Council. Between 28 May 2013 and 5 August 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed 5 August 2013.

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of South Kesteven Council (PDF)

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

South Kesteven District Council (PDF)

Local residents

D Wright (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr I Channell (PDF)

Cllrs Selby & Wells (PDF)

Cllr B Sampson (PDF)

Parish & Town Councils

Castle Bytham Parish Council (PDF)

Stamford Town Council (PDF)

Click on the link to view electorate figures (XLS) for South Kesteven.

On 26 February 2013 we started an electoral review of South Kesteven District Council. From 26 February 2013 to 8 April 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent South Kesteven in the future.

Consultation closed on 8 April 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Cramp (PDF)

Dawe L (PDF)

Kidd K (PDF)

Marsh S (PDF)

Moore A (PDF)

Wilson D (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Barkston and Syston Parish Council (PDF)

Bourne Town Council (PDF)

Local Authority

South Kesteven District Council (PDF)

We also received an anonymous submission

Anonymous (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council which are available below under preliminary council size consultation. The Commission considered this submission and sought views on its proposals for a council size of 55 members for South Kesteven District Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF) contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with South Kesteven District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a single submission on council size. 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, (PDF) published on 25 March 1997

Draft report, (PDF) published in October 1996.