Draft and final recommendation reports for Lincoln, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Lincoln

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Lincoln between January 2014 - July 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Lincoln councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Lincoln (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Lincoln, was made on 29th June 2015 and was published 7th July 2015. New ward arrangements for Lincoln have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2016.

The order for Lincoln can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/1461/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 19 March 2015 the Lincoln (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Lincoln and published on 17 February 2015.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Lincoln in 2016.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111133880/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

• Sheet 1 - Overview of the city (PDF)

On 17 February 2015 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Lincoln City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Lincoln City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Lincoln City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Lincoln City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2016.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 16 September 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Lincoln Council. Between 16 September 2014 and 08 December 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

•    Draft recommendations for Lincoln City  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release on draft recommendations for Lincoln

•    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Lincoln City Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

The consultation is now closed.                                                                                                                            

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Below are the submissions which we have received:

Councillors

Cllr MJones (PDF)

Local authority

City of Lincoln Council (PDF)

Local groups

Lincoln Conservative group (PDF)

Local residents

Bullock (PDF) 

On 29 April 2014, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for City of Lincoln Council. Between 29 April 2014 and 7 July 2014, we are inviting comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received.

Local authority

Lincoln City Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents (PDF)

Political groups

Lincoln, Sleaford and North Hykeham Liberal Democrats (PDF)

 

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of City of Lincoln Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

On 7 January 2014 we started an electoral review of City of Lincoln. From 7 January to 17 February we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Lincoln in the future. The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from City of Lincoln Council. It's submission is available below. The Commission has considered the submission and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 33 members for the City of Lincoln Council.

The consultation closed on the 17th February 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Local Residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Renshaw (PDF)

Political Parties

UKIP (PDF)

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2014.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in . You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with the City of Lincoln Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received a submission from the City Council on council size.

The Boundary Commitee for England began a Further Electoral Review (FER) of Lincoln on 3 August 2004. It completed this review on 25 May 2006.

On 26 October 2006 the Electoral Commission decided to accept the recommendations of the Boundary Committee for England without modifications.

On 23 November 2006 the Commission made the City of Lincoln (Electoral Changes) Order 2006 to implement their decision. Web and print versions of the Order are available at the Office of Public Sector Information's website. The Order describes the new district wards by reference to a map, comprising Sheet 1. Mapping of the new district wards will be available on Ordnance Survey's election maps website just before the elections in May 2007 that will bring the new wards into force.

Final report (PDF) and executive summary (PDF) published 25 May 2006.

Large map sheet 1 (PDF) illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Lincoln city.

Large map sheet 2 (PDF) illustrates the proposed boundaries in Lincoln city.

Draft report, (PDF) published 21 June 2005.

Large map sheet 1 (PDF) illustrates in outline form the proposed wards for Lincoln.

Large map sheet 2 (PDF) illustrates the proposed boundaries in Lincoln.

For more information see the Lincoln FER press release.

The last review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, (PDF) published on 25 March 1997

Draft report, (PDF) published in October 1996.